Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Application access set to not allowed testing APDUMIDlet

Hi, I am new to developing for Nokia mobile phones, however I've had expertise working with smart cards before.

I downloaded and installed the Series 40 SDK 3rd Edition Feature Pack 2. After some issues with my installed ant version, I managed to make the helloworldplus midlet compile and work. As I am most interested in SATSA JSR 177 APIs I'm trying also to make the APDUMIDlet work. It compiles and loads into the simulator nicely. However when trying to run it I get a message telling "Application access set to not allowed" followed by a security exception.

Looking at the source code I find out the exception is launched while running:

cardConnection0 = (APDUConnection)Connector.open(CardSlot0);

CardSlot0 is defined as this:

private final String CardSlot0 = "apdu:0;target=a0.00.00.00.62.03.01.0c.02.01";

I am trying with a GSM card which don't have any application with that AID instantiated inside. I assumed that in this case any APDU would simply return status words meaning error. Could it be the case that the security exception is being launched because of the wrong AID?

If then, which is the AID to be used to "talk" with the default GSM/UMTS application? (In a GSM card the application is usually selected by default, any "default" CardSlot0 can be used in this case?)

Any ideas very welcome.

Re: Application access set to not allowed testing APDUMIDlet

Further info: The same problem if I try selecting explicitly the GSM applet:

private final String CardSlot0 = "apdu:0;target=A0.00.00.00.03.00.00";

Super Contributor

Have you checked the emulator preferences. In preferences on the MIDP sheet you should set the Security Domain to maximum.

Note: On real devices smart card access is not available for unsigned MIDlets or MIDlets signed to trusted 3rd party domain.

Hartti

Thanks, that helped. I am new to J2ME so sorry in advance if I ask something obvious.