×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Which memory for contacts is being used?

    Hi all,

    Is there any way to check in the phone that which contact memory is being used. e.g is the Sim memory is being selected at the time or the Phone's contact memory is being used?

    I think PIM API does some thing with these memories. So plz can any body tell me how to see which memory for the contacts in the phone is being used? is it Sim memory or is it the phone's default memory?

    from

    Arsllan

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    77

    Re: Which memory for contacts is being used?

    Hi arsllan,

    item.getPIMList().getName() will give you the answer for your Question. (here Item refers to PIMItem)

    Also notice that Its not possible to access SIM contacts in few phones although they supports PIM API.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    5

    Re: Which memory for contacts is being used?

    Hi Sunil,

    The line that you have provided me only gives me the name of the list that I am accessing right now. e.g. as I am using Contact List for contacts this line gives me name "Contacts", i.e. of the ContactList.

    So if I will be using TODOList it will give me the name of that list that may be TODO. So this does not give me the memory for contacts that is being set in the phone right now. i.e phone's default memory or Sim memory. i want to know that memory.

    Also one thing if I have selected the sim memory in the phone, and I try to get the phone's default memory, will the PIM be able to get that memory while the current memory in the phone is SIM?


    waiting for quick response........

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Delhi
    Posts
    77

    Re: Which memory for contacts is being used?

    Quote Originally Posted by arsllan
    Hi Sunil,

    The line that you have provided me only gives me the name of the list that I am accessing right now. e.g. as I am using Contact List for contacts this line gives me name "Contacts", i.e. of the ContactList.
    Try out in S40 , 3rd edition SDK.

Similar Threads

  1. CAknForm/CAknDialog and memory management
    By ValentinK in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-07-10, 20:16
  2. 7650 and 3650 Canvas and FullCanvas memory
    By marcilgen in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2003-07-08, 12:24
  3. Some memory related and other issues
    By sanjg2k1 in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-07-07, 17:38
  4. can not successfully link any sample using .NET
    By lobotomat in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2002-08-20, 00:29
  5. 9210 and 9210i java memory
    By allams in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1970-01-01, 02:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×