×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    76

    Unable to debug with Netbeans 5.5 & S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK

    Hi

    I am having trouble getting debuging working with Netbeans 5.5 and the S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK.
    The issue I am getting is that when I try to debug my application in the S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK
    (I just have a simple hello world java app, created by the netbeans wizzard)

    Just to be on the safe side I uninstalled all the java components from my PC (I run XP sp2)
    I then reinstalled them in the following order.

    1. JSE dev kit 5.0 (1.5.0_09)
    2. netbeans 5.5
    3. netbeans mobility 5.5
    4. s60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK
    (I then rebooted my PC)

    I then opened up netbeans and added a new Java Platform in the Java Platform Manager.

    I then Created a simple helloworld application using the wizzard tool.

    I then debugged this using the WTK 2.2 and this worked fine.
    I then switched to the S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK and tried to debug in this.


    The emulator appears to start up fine to begin with then I get the following error message from XP.

    “systemams.exe – has encountered a problem
     module name midp2.dll “

    When I ok this dialog the emulator shuts down and I get the following displayed in the build.xml output in netbeans.


    Starting emulator in debug server mode on port 1535
    Emulator command: C:\Series60\Devices\S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK\bin\Epoc32\release\winscw\udeb\systemams.exe -vm hmidp80 -launch -classpath c:\tmp\midp\HelloMobileApplication.jar -descriptor c:\tmp\midp\HelloMobileApplication.jad -debugger -port 2811 HelloMidlet
    Debug proxy command: kdp.KVMDebugProxy -l 1535 -p -r localhost 2811 -classpath C:\Series60\Devices\S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK\lib\hmidp81.zip;C:\workspace\SandPit\GusD\Java\HelloMobileApplication\dist\nbrun#27978\HelloMobileApplication.jar
    Connecting to localhost on port 2811
    ERROR: cannot bind to port 3651, error 10048
    KVM not ready
    KVM not ready
    nbdebug:
    dummy.exe -classpath c:\tmp\midp\HelloMobileApplication.jar -StickyConsole =StackSize512 =StackSizeIncrement512 =HeapMin400K =HeapCapacity16M +UseCompiler -debugger -port 2811 com.symbian.midp.runtime.MIDletSuiteAMS -jad c:\tmp\midp\HelloMobileApplication.jad -jar c:\tmp\midp\HelloMobileApplication.jar -msid 23 -msin 1 -mid 1
    KVM not ready
    KVM not ready
    KdpDebugTask connecting to debugger 1 ..
    KVM not ready
    KVM not ready
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Suspend All
    Attached JPDA debugger to localhost:1535
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    DEBUGGER EVENT: VM Event ID=0x1, kind=0x8
    #
    # CLDC HotSpot VM Error, assertion failure
    #
    # Error ID: Symbol.hpp, 38
    #
    # assert(is_within_bounds(index), "Symbol contents index out of bounds")
    #

    If I launch the emualtor in non debug more my application runs file, but Ideally I would like to be able to debug my applition in the nokia emultor, rather than the WTK one.

    Can anyone please shed any light on this? I am pretty new to java and this has really stumped me.


    Thanks in advance

    Guus Davidson

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: Unable to debug with Netbeans 5.5 & S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK

    I have been trying to see if it is possible to change the java version from 1.5.0_09 to 1.4 2.13 to see if this is the cause of my problem. But I can't figure out how to change the JAVA_HOME in netbeans and don't know if this is even possible?


    thanks in advance
    Guus Davidson

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Unable to debug with Netbeans 5.5 & S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK

    Hi!

    I have a similar problem than Guus. I use also netbeans 5.5 and would like to debug my Midlet on S60 3rd Edition SDK emulator.

    When I run my project everything is fine. When I try to debug, the emulator starts, but soon the emulator crashes. The strange thing is that netbeans seems to use a random port-number.

    I also tried to attach a debugger with these options:

    Connector: SocketListen | SocketAttach
    Host: IP address of my local machine
    Port: same port in S60 3rd Edition SDK > Tools > Preferences > MIDP Debugging > S60Emulator
    Timeout [ms]: 2000

    The error messages have been either "time out" (SocketListen) or "Address already in use: JVM_Bind" (with SocketAttach).

    I also tried to run the project with Emulator Command Line Options: -Xrunjdwp:transport=dt_socket, address=9462,server=y,suspend=n

    Nothing succeeds. Below I attach the debug-part of my build-impl.xml.

    Hope somebody can give me a hint, how to debug with netbeans!

    Thanks in advance!
    Best regards, Franz

    Code:
        <target name="debug" description="Debug project." depends="init,clean,jar">
            <delete file="${build.dir}/.timestamp"/>
            <parallel>
                <nb-run debug="true" debugsuspend="true" debugserver="true" debuggeraddressproperty="jpda.port" platformtype="${platform.type}" platformhome="${platform.home}" device="${platform.device}" jadfile="${dist.dir}/${dist.jad}" jarfile="${dist.dir}/${dist.jar}" execmethod="${run.method}" securitydomain="${evaluated.run.security.domain}" commandline="${platform.debugcommandline}" classpath="${platform.bootclasspath}:${dist.dir}/${dist.jar}" cmdoptions="${run.cmd.options}"/>
                <sequential>
                    <sleep seconds="5"/>
                    <antcall target="nbdebug"/>
                </sequential>
            </parallel>
        </target>

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    75

    Re: Unable to debug with Netbeans 5.5 & S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK

    Has anyone solved this issue?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Cordoba, Argentina
    Posts
    17

    Re: Unable to debug with Netbeans 5.5 & S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK

    Have try to install S60 3rd Edition FP1 SDK for MIDP?
    Sergio

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    75

    Re: Unable to debug with Netbeans 5.5 & S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK

    No, haven't I'll try but why should it work with 2nd FP3 ony after I install 3rd FP1?

    Alex

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    75

    Re: Unable to debug with Netbeans 5.5 & S60_2nd_FP3_MIDP_SDK

    I installed the 3rd FP1 and nothing happens. The 2nd 3FP doesn't work as well as the 3rd or the 3rd FP1

    Any idea?

Similar Threads

  1. Carbide.j 1.5 unstable with Netbeans 5.5?
    By kalgik in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-05-18, 01:11
  2. How to debug j2me app in NetBeans 5.0 with mobility pack 5.5
    By madsum in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-01-23, 06:04
  3. Java 6 / Netbeans 5.5 / Carbide.j Issue?
    By blastblast in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-01-20, 13:31
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-08-25, 11:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×