×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    122

    Unhappy Reboot programatically N70

    Hi guys,
    I need reboot programatically Nokia N70.
    I used next strings :

    RDebug::Fault(0);
    and
    UserSvr::ResetMachine(EStartupWarmReset);

    In both cases, N70 is frozen and then I need reject battery for reboot device.
    This code works fine on Nokia 6630, but not on N70
    Exist any way reboot N70? Any body have experience?
    Please help.
    Thanks in advance.
    Svat_

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    Have you tried killing phone process/task already ?

    quite often does the trick in pre-3rd edition devices, but could be that FP3 has some funnities there preventing it also.

    yucca

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    symbianyucca,

    its not good to killing phone process and task to reboot the phone. so try to do some thing like some previous solution.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,166

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    Hi Kkrish, yep, its propably not the best solution, but if others fails, it might be one of the only options.

    Could you also give me any real and specific reasons, why it is not good and should be avoided, sofar I haven't seen any bad side efects on using it.

    yucca

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    india
    Posts
    2,078

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    hi,

    there is much of a debate on this topic..

    http://mikie.iki.fi/wordpress/?p=38#comment-6759

    and the solution exits in this page..

    http://mikie.iki.fi/lxr/source/starter/src/main.cpp

    but it has technical issues.. as per the links if u go through...

    Regards,
    Mateen Maldar
    "Whatever the mind can conceive and believe, the mind can achieve"

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    good link mateen,

    thanx
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    122

    Smile Re: Reboot programatically N70

    Thanks guys! Works fine!
    Svat_

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    51°11'4.78"N -|- 2°48'27.05"E (Belgium)
    Posts
    730

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    Hi Svat_ !

    can you share the code you have used to reboot the n70 ? I can't find this procedure ...

    Thanks a lot in advance,
    Domi.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    FExplorer is my baby !

    you can get the FREE version from www.gosymbian.com
    you can get the PRO version from http://store.ovi.com/content/339454

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    india
    Posts
    2,078

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    hi,

    check this link...

    http://mikie.iki.fi/lxr/source/starter/src/main.cpp and use implement this function.
    ShutdownAndRestart

    well its has technical drawbacks might hamper fucntionality of device..

    Regards,
    Mateen Maldar
    "Whatever the mind can conceive and believe, the mind can achieve"

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    51°11'4.78"N -|- 2°48'27.05"E (Belgium)
    Posts
    730

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    Hi,

    thanks for this fast answer !!
    I used this method too in FExplorer but it seems that it doesn't work on the n70 (only)

    Cheers,
    Domi.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    FExplorer is my baby !

    you can get the FREE version from www.gosymbian.com
    you can get the PRO version from http://store.ovi.com/content/339454

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    india
    Posts
    2,078

    Re: Reboot programatically N70

    hi,
    Try this...might work
    RWsSession iWs; User::LeaveIfError(iWs.Connect());
    TWsEvent e; e.SetType(EEventPointer);
    iWs.SendEventToOneWindowGroupsPerClient(e);
    iWs.SendEventToAllWindowGroups( e);
    Regards,
    MM
    "Whatever the mind can conceive and believe, the mind can achieve"

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,344

    Smile Re: Reboot programatically N70

    Check this Known Issue: http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...upt_data_files

    And how about looking into this thread where you were actively involved.
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=88813

    Kiran.

Similar Threads

  1. AT Command Support for N70 - Urgent
    By sureshkumar435 in forum General Messaging
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2009-11-25, 11:47
  2. N70: System.out redirection tool (Ecmt and RedMIDlet).
    By ThereseM in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-04-25, 10:01
  3. can't connect my n70 through bluetooth, with pc suite 6.82.22
    By jrm in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-12-15, 09:17
  4. Bluetooth GPS and N70
    By ssandor in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-05-18, 15:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×