×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    31

    voice call setup params

    Hi
    I want to establish an outgoing voice call to a specific number from my application. I have been able to do this using CTelephony class.
    I also need to restrict the call for exactly 1 minute (60 seconds). If I use a timer on my own which I start after receiving the call established event, I get a mismatch in the call duration of 1-2 seconds (when compared with call logs application and called number's phone log) I guess this is because of using two active objects, one for call establishment and hangup and other for RTimer.

    Is there a way I can specify this time in call setup params, so that the call lasts exactly for 60 seconds, not a second more or less?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: voice call setup params

    User::WaitForRequest();

    but rember it will block the thread till the duration that you will assign.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    31

    Re: voice call setup params

    thanks but I want to avoid doing that, because I want to keep my GUI responsive so that user may cancel the ongoing call in between.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: voice call setup params

    i think then there is no other way may be some nokia expert will help you.



    kkrish
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  5. #5
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: voice call setup params

    Try a Timer with Highest possible Priority. That will help.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    31

    Re: voice call setup params

    Thanks Kumar, I changed the priority of active object class containing the RTimer to CActive::EPriorityHigh , this has definitely helped as frequency of mismatch in call duration in both the phones has decreased but still its not perfect as compared to when call is made from idle screen and manually disconnected.

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: voice call setup params

    what is the Priority you have given to CTelephony. Try Reducing it.
    If that also does not help. You have to contact Pro Help.

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: voice call setup params

    i think you will not get the correct on but you will be near of this.
    you can try User::Inactivity also but if user press any key and any other action is there then it will create a problem.
    Use [URL="http://qt.nokia.com/products/qt-quick/"]Qt-Quick[/URL] to make your application UI more attractive.

    [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/271896"]http://store.ovi.com/content/271896[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276199"]http://store.ovi.com/content/276199[/URL] |[URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/276202"] http://store.ovi.com/content/276202[/URL] | [URL="http://store.ovi.com/content/280827"]http://store.ovi.com/content/280827[/URL]

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    31

    Re: voice call setup params

    this seems to me very strange, i made simple calls from one Nokia S60 phone to another Nokia S40 phone, but there was some mismatch in call duration showed in the two phones after the end of the call, the chances of mismatch was less in case of between two Nokia S60 phones!

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    31

    Re: voice call setup params

    Now instead of using the CTelephony class, I decided to use Core ETel APIs as there is a service to get call duration change event in RCall. I am using a single active object for making call RCall:ial (asynchronous version), in RunL() when I get the event of completion of the request (iStatus == KErrNone) I check for the status of the call using synchronous function RCall::GetStatus, if the call status is shown as RCall::EStatusConnected, i.e. the call is established, I make a request for 1 sec interval duration using asynchronous function RCall::NotifyCallDurationChange. Suppose, in between this time, before 60 seconds timeline, if the call is disconnected due to any reason, as I am already in between an asynchronous call how and where can I get the status of the call / line i.e. event for disconnection of the call.
    Kindly suggest.

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: voice call setup params

    If i am not wrong you will get the error in TInt RunError(TInt aError); of your class if you over load it.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    31

    Re: voice call setup params

    I had the following kind of code in my RunL() as well as in RunError(),iHangUpRequestByMe is a bool flag which I set only when I do a hangup request. But still I could not trap the event of call Hangingup in between my request for call duration change done via iCall.NotifyCallDurationChange(iStatus , iIntervalSecond );



    iCall.GetStatus(iCallStatus);
    if(iCallStatus == RCall::EStatusHangingUp && !iHangUpRequestByMe )
    {
    iCall.NotifyCallDurationChangeCancel();
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………
    CEikonEnv::Static()->AlertWin(_L("Call is disconnected due to other reasons..."));

    }



    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. 3G Voice Call and simultaneous data connection
    By olshevch in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2009-12-19, 14:26
  2. SX1 dialling initiates fax call instead of voice call
    By kdinn in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-08-25, 06:12
  3. Setup call problem
    By bakakaba in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-08-23, 15:15
  4. How to make simultaneous VOICE and DATA call on a Nokia Phone?
    By venkat_nokia in forum PC Suite API and PC Connectivity SDK
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-04-28, 12:15
  5. Voice call in middle of a data call
    By njacharya21 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-01-29, 16:20

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×