Discussion Board

Using the N95 as an ad-hoc IAP

Hi, I'm new here, I'm a student getting into mobile development yada yada.

I recently had this idea that since I have an N95 with a no-transfer-limit hsdpa internet connection, and I also have a Nintendo DS, I'd like to use the N95 to provide a bridge to the internet via Wi-Fi, since both devices support them. This would also be cool to have for my laptop, as it doesn't have Bluetooth connectivity.

I haven't been able to find any documentation or discussion about doing this, so my questions are:

Is the Wi-Fi hardware in the N95 capable of serving as an ad-hoc internet access point?
    If so, is there an interface for it in the S60 SDK that I could use to create bridging software?

I know that at least some S80 devices can do it. The DS is capable of running as an ad-hoc IAP, but there's currently no homebrew API available for it, and I would rather work on setting the N95 up as an IAP so I could use its 3G internet access for other devices as well.

Super Contributor

Re: Using the N95 as an ad-hoc IAP

No such built-in router feature/software.

However, you might use an intermediate PC as the router, and the phone as a modem.

Would it be possible to create the needed software for it though? What I mean is, is the Wi-Fi hardware in the N95 capable of it with the right software? I'm trying to learn network programming and a project like that would be a great motivator for me. :)

I am also interested in the answer to this question. Although more interested to know if two N95's could talk to each other in an ad-hoc fashion. Any advice about where to look in the API docs would be welcome.

This looks like a very interesting concept. The ability to use an N95 as the access point with a GPRS connection to the internet would make remote access possible for all sorts of devices.

Any clever people out there with an idea about how to progress this ?