Discussion Board

Super Contributor

Error with deployment

Hi,
    I am testing the Location API.
    To do this I wrote a simple app and I am trying this on a Nokia N91, which has the required API...
    Unfortunately while instaling it on the device (and the emulator) I get the following message : Application not compatible with phone

I have been searching for this error on the net and on the forum, but I always find stuff about .pkg files and sis file-making...
    I have been developing for two months now and I have never used any of those... Also I noticed these kind of "solutions" are placed in C++ fora, but I am developing in Java (J2ME)...

So anyone has any idea if there are solutions to this error-message ? And if so are these only appliable to C++ (Symbian OS) ?
    As far as I am concerned the N91 should be able to run my Java app, otherwise it wouldnt have much sense for it to support JSR's...
    Thanks in advance !

/edit

BTW : it runs on the WTK 2.5 Emulator, but not on the N91 and/or the Nokia S60 emulator, thats when i get the error
    Last edited by Tiger79; 2007-05-01 at 12:17.

Super Contributor

Re: Error with deployment

Yes, N91 does support JSR 179 Location API. Is your phone an operator branded one? Also make sure that the JAD/MF entries are correct and they match each other.

Regards
    Gopal

Regular Contributor

Application not compatible is this the exact error message u get.
    Regards
    Nouman

Super Contributor

yup, it was

fortunately I discovered that for some reason NetBeans decided to place the Microedition Profile to MIDP 2.1 instead of 2.0
    reason unknown, it still does it even after I change it in project properties... maybe because of used Libraries (Location API) ???