×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Finland, Helsinki
    Posts
    323

    [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    location.gsm_location() fails during (and a few seconds after) an internet connection or a telephone call in 3G/UMTS-network, if using Series60 3rd edition phone.

    Test environment:
    • PythonForS60_1_3_21_3rdEd_unsigned_freedevcert.SIS (signed with Ensymble and devcert with full caps)
    • PythonScriptShell_1_3_21_3rdEd_unsigned_freedevcert.SIS (signed with Ensymble and devcert with full caps)
    • Nokia E70 (firmware 2 and 3, tested both), fails in E65 too
    • Elisa and Sonera 3G network in Helsinki, Finland
    • A minimal test program:


    Code:
    import location, urllib, e32
    print location.gsm_location()
    urllib.urlretrieve("http://www.google.com", "D:/temp.html")
    for i in range(20):
      loc=location.gsm_location()
      print "%d Loc: %s"%(i,loc)
      if loc is not None:
         print "got gsm-location"
         break
      e32.ao_sleep(1.0)
    Usually 10th gsm_location() gives me expected result (mcc,mnc,lac,cell), first 9 results none.

    NOTES:
    • Your Python and script shell must be signed with at least Location capability
    • Python must(?) be saved into phone's memory
    • You have to be in 3G network (small 3G icon in phone's left top corner)
    • Save code above as a file into C:/python/locbug.py
    • Execute python and Run script "locbug.py"


    This problem does not occur in 2nd edition phones or in GMS-cells.

    If someone can confirm this bug, I'll send a bug report to sourceforge.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Oulu, Finland
    Posts
    622

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    Hi aaaaapo,

    I'm not sure that will help but try with

    Try with
    Code:
    urllib.urlretrieve("http://www.google.com", "D:\\temp.html")
    I don't have a signed version so I hope that someone else could help you.

    LFD
    Devices:
    Nokia E61 3rd Edition - pys60 1.4.0

    Tips and modules:
    http://www.lfdm.net/thesis

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Posts
    66

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    I have noticed the same problem with N80 and E60 phones. Even though Python has been signed with devcert it sometimes gives None for location.

    - Teemu

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    153

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    Hi aaaaapo,
    i experienced the same problem during standard use of the gsm_location()-module on the N73. From time to time it just gives back "a none-array", which was causing my application to crash.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Finland, Helsinki
    Posts
    323

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    Quote Originally Posted by novis
    i experienced the same problem during standard use of the gsm_location()-module on the N73.
    Okay, I'll file a bug (as soon as I find my sourceforge login/password :-).

    Quote Originally Posted by novis
    From time to time it just gives back "a none-array", which was causing my application to crash.
    Suggestion: make a wrapper function e.g. "get_location", which calls location.gsm_location() and handles possible none-array in some more clever way (e.g. returns tuple (0,0,0,0)).

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    209

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    Quote Originally Posted by aaaaapo
    location.gsm_location() fails during (and a few seconds after) an internet connection or a telephone call in 3G/UMTS-network, if using Series60 3rd edition phone.
    The reason could be this:

    http://www.forum.nokia.com/document/...work_usage.htm

    (PyS60 uses the mentioned "CTelephony" internally)

    If this is the case, we most probably have to wait for the firmware update.

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Finland, Helsinki
    Posts
    323

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    Quote Originally Posted by otsov
    The reason could be this:
    http://www.forum.nokia.com/document/...work_usage.htm
    If this is the case, we most probably have to wait for the firmware update.
    Ok, I won't file a bug and try to live with this until new and shiny firmware is shipped. Thank you for information.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    I can confirm it.

    Mine is even worse: I always get "None".

    Equipment: Nokia N80.
    Python: 1.4.4 (3rdEd).
    Network: phone shows "vodafone P" (Portugal).

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Bhavnagar (India)
    Posts
    112

    Re: [BUG] gsm_location fails (3rdEd+3G/UMTS-network)

    Quote Originally Posted by jbatista View Post
    I can confirm it.

    Mine is even worse: I always get "None".

    Equipment: Nokia N80.
    Python: 1.4.4 (3rdEd).
    Network: phone shows "vodafone P" (Portugal).
    hi jabatista
    welcome to forum nokia pys60 dibo
    hav you signed your script shell with location capabilities.
    - Chintan Umraliya

Similar Threads

  1. J2ME download fails on UK Orange network
    By shaneporter in forum Digital Rights Management & Content Downloading
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-11-15, 17:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •