×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    115

    System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    My application runs perfectly in the emulator, but when installing it on the device (Nokia N91) it only gives a "System Error" when starting the application.

    An app-TRK session showed that the execution didn't get far:
    The initial breakpoint is here:
    Code:
    GLDEF_C TInt E32Main() {
        return EikStart::RunApplication( NewApplication );
    }
    And NewApplication calls this function in e32base.inl:
    Code:
    inline TAny* CBase::operator new(TUint aSize) __NO_THROW {
        return User::AllocZ(aSize);
    }
    The value of aSize is 0, and the System Error occurs there.

    Two questions:
    - What's happening here; why does it differ with the emulator run...?
    - How can I get the phone to display error code in case of a panic or system error?
    Last edited by dracula78; 2007-05-21 at 13:09.

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,689

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator


  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    115

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    I'd read about the ErrRd file, but it doesn't seem to work on my N91 test-device. With Nokia PC Suite I can see a C: drive (Phone memory) with only a Data directory; it has an E:\RESOURCE directory though, which is on the Memory card. After installation of the ErrRd.sisx I don't see an ErrRd file appear anywhere.

    However, the error code thing would be helpful for future debugging... Do you happen to recognize the "System Error"-on-startup problem?

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    I think that you need to read a bit more. Try this: http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ded_panic_code

    By installing the sis package the ErrRd file was probably created though that does not mean that it is in any way visible (nor need it be).

    Once extended panic information enabled the "System error" message would probably be followed by "-1" (KErrNotFound) indicating some problem with the registration file or some missing component (dll, resource ...) .

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    115

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    Yes, that was also displayed in the screenshot. However, after installing the ErrRd.sisx (which went fine), the dialog still shows "System Error". Sorry for not having mentioned that clearly in my previous post...
    IDE: Carbide.c++ 1.3 / 2.0beta
    SDK: S60 3rd edition MP / FP1
    V2.10.013 (15-09-06) @ Nokia N91
    V20.0.058 (21-10-06) @ Nokia N93
    V30.0.015 (15-07-08) @ Nokia N95

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    Interesting ... can you please post the firmware version of your device ?

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    Quote Originally Posted by dracula78
    My application runs perfectly in the emulator, but when installing it on the device (Nokia N91) it only gives a "System Error" when starting the application.

    An app-TRK session showed that the execution didn't get far:
    The initial breakpoint is here:
    Code:
    GLDEF_C TInt E32Main() {
        return EikStart::RunApplication( NewApplication );
    }
    And NewApplication calls this function in e32base.inl:
    Code:
    inline TAny* CBase::operator new(TUint aSize) __NO_THROW {
        return User::AllocZ(aSize);
    }
    The value of aSize is 0, and the System Error occurs there.

    Two questions:
    - What's happening here; why does it differ with the emulator run...?
    - How can I get the phone to display error code in case of a panic or system error?
    If i am not wrong, you are launching a Ecom from a Stub exe. I face the same problem if my ECOM is not correctly installed / registered. check to ensure that it is registered in ECOM plugin

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    115

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    skumar_rao: Thanks for the reply. Can you explain a bit more about that? My application is an exe (not a dll), but what exactly is an ECOM? How do you register it?

    I've tried both on-device debugging and installing the generated .sisx, both with the same results: "System Error" before the application is even displayed.

    Itomuta: Tomorrow I'll post the firmware version of the device, if I can figure out how ;)
    IDE: Carbide.c++ 1.3 / 2.0beta
    SDK: S60 3rd edition MP / FP1
    V2.10.013 (15-09-06) @ Nokia N91
    V20.0.058 (21-10-06) @ Nokia N93
    V30.0.015 (15-07-08) @ Nokia N95

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    If you do not know what ECom is that it is likely that you do not use it. As for what ECom is there is enough documentation in SDKs and Forum Nokia ;)

    For finding out the firmware version dial the following code on your phone.
    Code:
    *#0000#
    Last edited by ltomuta; 2007-05-25 at 10:46.

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    9,968

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    Quote Originally Posted by dracula78
    skumar_rao: Thanks for the reply. Can you explain a bit more about that? My application is an exe (not a dll), but what exactly is an ECOM? How do you register it?

    I've tried both on-device debugging and installing the generated .sisx, both with the same results: "System Error" before the application is even displayed.
    ECOM - > EPOC-COM
    They are used to support Plugin Architecture. For more information try going through this http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.n..._0_en.zip.html

    It has all the Docs about ECOM

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    115

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    My N91 firmware version:
    Code:
    V1.00.028.13
    29-03-06
    RM-43
    Somehow, the "System Error" now no longer even appears; instead, when launching my installed application the screen flashes once and returns to the app. menu. As a test, I single-stepped through HelloWorld with App TRK, installed and ran it, all with success.

    Could it be that when the wrong capabilites are selected (or missing) in the .mmp, this behaviour occurs? I have no idea where to look for the cause of the crash, because none of my code actually gets executed yet.
    IDE: Carbide.c++ 1.3 / 2.0beta
    SDK: S60 3rd edition MP / FP1
    V2.10.013 (15-09-06) @ Nokia N91
    V20.0.058 (21-10-06) @ Nokia N93
    V30.0.015 (15-07-08) @ Nokia N95

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    739

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    Hi,

    Did you tried uninstall the application and deleting all its necessary files and install it again...?

    Peter

  13. #13
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    115

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    Yup, I removed the application and re-installed it several times, without result.

    You mention "all its necessary files"... I assumed that all resources are included in this .sisx file I'm installing, is that correct? If I'm wrong, where do I put the various resources used by my app (.wav, .bmp, .rsc, ...), and how?
    IDE: Carbide.c++ 1.3 / 2.0beta
    SDK: S60 3rd edition MP / FP1
    V2.10.013 (15-09-06) @ Nokia N91
    V20.0.058 (21-10-06) @ Nokia N93
    V30.0.015 (15-07-08) @ Nokia N95

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    739

    Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    Quote Originally Posted by dracula78
    Yup, I removed the application and re-installed it several times, without result.

    If I'm wrong, where do I put the various resources used by my app (.wav, .bmp, .rsc, ...), and how?
    Search for this pdf file in forum nokia "S60_Platform_Symbian_Platform_Security_FAQ_v2_0_en" this is good pdf talking abt various resources used by your application and its path etc.

    Peter

  15. #15
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Mobile Village - IN
    Posts
    78

    Smile Re: System Error on phone; runs fine in emulator

    ========

    This is very Simple Error to solve.

    Please install new EPOC in your system. compile your code make sis file.

    Your problem solved. I have faced same problem. i done clean EPOC build it is working fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-05-22, 06:25
  2. 7250i sockets work on phone but not emulator
    By trrutter in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-04-13, 08:09
  3. Differences between emulator & real phone
    By sodox306 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-03-15, 02:28
  4. JABWT MIDlets emulator to phone
    By lambertdavid in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-02-06, 12:17
  5. Works in emulator not in phone
    By cervera in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2003-11-07, 15:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×