Discussion Board

Create Symbian 60 Theme's .sis file from scratch (using command line)

hi to everyone,

I am a newbie in s60 application development, currently, i has an idea to create the s60's theme without the using if application such as carbide.ui..... i want to do it from scratch (i.e by given a list of background images, icon images, etc, create a .sis file which can be installed into nokia symbian's[2nd and 3rd edition] phone).

Currently, since, theme's .sis file consists of 2 files, .mbm and .skn file. And untill now, i manage to get over on how to create the .mbm file. But i am stucked on .skn file for several times,,,, Can anyone help on this (i.e create skn file, by using command line)??

I had downloaded "S60 3rd Edition SDK for Symbian OS, for C++" from nokia forum,,,, i has used "mbmconv.exe" to create the mbm file,,, but i don't manage to create skn file.

Hope that some experts and experiences can lend me your helping hand... Or someone who has others way to do it, please to tell me,,, i will very appreciate about this,,,,

Thanks in advance....

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Create Symbian 60 Theme's .sis file from scratch (using command line)

The SDK is intended for Symbian C++ application development not for skins. While some tools might be common (like mifconv and bmconv) there is no need for a skin tool in the C++ SDK.

Hi ltomuta,

Thanks for your reply, can you give more guidance on the tools that you suggested (especially mifconv) ?? How can i make use of the tools that you listed to create a s60 theme's .sis file (the main prob is, i has no idea on how to create the .skn file contained inside the .sis file)?

Still confusing,
    chenloong

mifconf is the tool used for packing SVG files into MIF (similar to bmconv for bitmaps), it has nothing to do with the skn files. And my point is that the entire SDK has nothing to do with that file, you are looking in the wrong place.