×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    29

    is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    i wanna draw a line over a videocontrol in a canvas.
    is it possible?

    the following is from web:
    How to play video in Canvas(J2ME)

    Canvas is low-level API that allows user-defined painting schemes, displayed by Display instance carried by MIDlet. Compared with Form, VideoControl is able to be cast to an Item, then taken by Form. There is no direct association between Player and Canvas. Moreover, VideoControl instance is itself-equipted with a paint layer that sits on top of any layer if configed at final stage. Therefore, Canvas is used to display some control symbols drawn by developers, at somewhere on canvas VideoControl sits on top to display video screen.


    in the above content, --> on canvas VideoControl sits on top to display video screen.

    so i am not sure i can draw a line over a videocontrol in a canvas.but i hope
    my midlet has this function.

    any clue?

    best regards.

    byron lee

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    You need the AMMS (JSR-234) optional packages, which include OverlayControl toi achieve this.

    Hartti

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    Quote Originally Posted by hartti
    You need the AMMS (JSR-234) optional packages, which include OverlayControl toi achieve this.

    Hartti

    hi hartti,
    thank you for your answer.

    are there any mobile phobes that support this jsr?


    best regards
    byron lee

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    689

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    hi byronlilu,
    The jsr234 supports a numerous controls.Even if the phone supports jsr234 it is not mandatory that all the controls are supported.U have to be careful about this.
    Thanks
    soku

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    112

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    are there any mobile phobes that support this jsr?
    At least N95 and E90 has support for JSR-234. From that I would assume that most of the 3rd Ed. FP1 phones will have it.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    hi soku123.
    thank you!
    hi pillar.
    thank you !

    I will try it on N95 or E90, at the same time pay attention to the
    controls of jsr234 .some of which are implemented, others not.

    thank you both again.


    best regards.
    byron lee

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    30

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    here is a list of devices that support jsr234..... there is a K800 which you can go ahead with as its been in the market for about an year now and should be quite stable...

    http://www.j2mepolish.org/devices/de...ultimedia.html
    Sreekanth Bellur,
    Symbian C++ Developer,
    Ravensoft Ltd.,
    Manchester,
    United Kingdom

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    689

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    Hi,
    K800 have problems with camera when accesed using j2me.At times the viewfinder may not show properly.This can be problem of a specific software.
    Please check that properly.
    Thanks
    Soku

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    hi,soku123
    thank you

    hi sreekanthbellur
    thank you

    i visited the page:
    http://developer.sonyericsson.com/si...raw_canvas.jsp
    and
    http://www.club-java.com/TastePhone/..._Benchmark.jsp

    I think k800i should be ok.

    did you try some camera application(j2me) on k800i?


    best regards.

    byron lee

  10. #10
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    689

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    Hi byronlilu,
    I have worked with camera in k800i using j2me.i have fsced many problems with camera.May be it may be the problem with the phone software.anyway all the best.
    Thanks
    Soku

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    The OverlayControl is not available on S60 3rd Edition FP1 phones. The AMMS implementation on those phones support Music and 3D Audio packages

    Hartti

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Angry Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    I am trying to display a Video on the canvas,but VideoControl is not getting initialized properly.I am posting my code for review.

    Canvas canvas = new Canvas() {
    protected void paint(Graphics g) {

    }
    };
    Display.getDisplay(this).setCurrent(canvas);
    try
    {
    videoPlayer = Manager.createPlayer("http://10.76.121.75:8080/servlets-examples/song1.3gp");
    videoPlayer.addPlayerListener(this);
    videoPlayer.realize();
    videoPlayer.prefetch();
    try
    {
    VideoControl videoControl = (VideoControl)(videoPlayer.getControl("VideoControl"));

    if(videoControl!=null)
    {

    videoControl.initDisplayMode(VideoControl.USE_DIRECT_VIDEO, canvas);
    videoControl.setVisible(true);
    videoPlayer.start();
    }
    else
    System.out.println("Video Control not supported");
    }
    catch(IllegalArgumentException e)
    {
    e.printStackTrace();
    }
    catch(IllegalStateException e)
    {
    e.printStackTrace();
    }
    }
    catch (IOException e)
    {
    e.printStackTrace();
    }
    catch (MediaException e)
    {
    e.printStackTrace();
    }
    catch(SecurityException e)
    {
    e.printStackTrace();
    }
    catch(Exception e)
    {
    e.printStackTrace();
    }

    Every time I am getting videocontrol value as null.Please reply as soon as possible.

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    Which phone are you running this on? Is the URL correct and is it available?

    Hartti

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Delhi
    Posts
    11

    Re: is it possible to draw a line over videocontrol in a canvas?

    Hi ,

    I have the same problem. I want to draw a text on the video being played. can we do it? i have gone thru JSR 234 too. can OverlayControl help me?

Similar Threads

  1. GoogleIt
    By deepika.mangla in forum Symbian
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2011-05-28, 11:04
  2. i cant build helloworld project
    By akhin in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-12-22, 12:38
  3. carbidec++ helloworld project problem
    By akhin in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-03-11, 12:40
  4. carbide build problem help please
    By berkcekisbas in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-26, 19:41
  5. My BuilderX (with S60 SDK 2.1.NET MS version) cannot build ARMI UREL
    By danielvidonyi@hotmail.com in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-05-04, 21:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×