Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

sending GPRS data to Java ME Midlet

I'm a complete newbie to this...so please forgive the stupid question. How do I send data via GPRS to a Java ME application? In other words what do I need on the server/desktop side to send GPRS data to a mobile device? And one more thing...how do i identify a particular mobile device as the target?

Re: sending GPRS data to Java ME Midlet

Quote Originally Posted by Larry101
    I'm a complete newbie to this...so please forgive the stupid question. How do I send data via GPRS to a Java ME application? In other words what do I need on the server/desktop side to send GPRS data to a mobile device? And one more thing...how do i identify a particular mobile device as the target?
    In the most common case you cannot sen data directly to a phone in a GPRS network. Users are normally billed for the data per transferred megabyte. Imagine someone bombarding your mobile phone's IP address with a ping packet flood.

That is why mobile phone operators have protected their GPRS network and all the mobile phones are in their private network, behind a NAT.

If you want to send data to a mobile phone, the phone needs to initiate the socket connection first. When the connection has been established, data can then be sent in both directions.

Regular Contributor

You would need to use http connection to send receive Data. check http connection class in j2me and also search on this forum u will find plenty of posts.
    Regards
    Nouman

Quote Originally Posted by nicenouman
    You would need to use http connection to send receive Data. check http connection class in j2me and also search on this forum u will find plenty of posts.