×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    50

    setting access point for tcp/ip connection on 7650

    I'm coding an application which opens a TCP/IP connection when an SMS arrives to phone. Server address, port and access point for connection are defined in settings menu and can be changed by user.

    TCP/IP connection and everything works well but when I start the connection at startup of the application I always get a access point selection dialog. I'm using RGenericAgent::StartOutgoing() to start the connection. I'd like to automatically (with no prompt) use access point specified in the settings by user.

    I have a list of access points (CApListItemList) an I would like to open connection using particular access point (CApListItem) from the list.

    How can I do this?

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Gurgaon, India
    Posts
    101

    RE: setting access point for tcp/ip connection on 7650

    you need to modify comm db of 7650 device
    1. Get cdbv2.dat from c:\system\data folder of the device.
    2. Place this cdbv2.dat file under c:\sysmtem\data folder of your installed 7650 sdk on PC.
    3. goto 6.1\shared\tools folder and run setupcomm.bat file.
    4. you will see the editior window for cdbv2.dat.
    press 1) Outgoing connection prefs
    and then modify
    DialogPref: <do not prompt > press enter to save it
    and select your IAP
    come out of editior..
    5. place cdbv2.dat back into the device
    now run your app, access point window will not popup

    i hope it helps..
    -nitin

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    63

    But it will prevent it permanently

    Hello,

    If i followed this procedure, the access point selection dialog will be permanently not visible for other applications too. How can we do like that?

    Is there any way to do this programatically so that my application will hide this selection box and other application can show it?

    Please let me know.

    Regards,
    Rajasekahr

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    10
    maybe you can try this:

    CCommsDbConnectionPrefTableView::TCommDbIapConnectionPref pref;

    pref.iRanking = 1;
    pref.iDirection = ECommDbConnectionDirectionOutgoing;
    pref.iDialogPref = ECommDbDialogPrefDoNotPrompt;

    CCommsDbConnectionPrefTableView::TCommDbIapBearer bearer;
    bearer.iBearerSet = ECommDbBearerGPRS;
    bearer.iIapId = yourIAP;
    pref.iBearer = bearer;

    CCommDbOverrideSettings * aSettings = CCommDbOverrideSettings::NewL(CCommDbOverrideSettings::EParamListFull, EDatabaseTypeIAP);
    aSettings->SetConnectionPreferenceOverride(pref);

    iAgent->StartOutgoing(*aSettings, iRequestStatus);
    delete aSettings;

    // certainly, you must get "yourIAP" before StartOutgoing
    Last edited by Youth_Jack; 2003-04-28 at 08:36.

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    77

    How do i get the bearer id?

    Hi! Form my phone settings i can only get the IAP name, but according to ur approach i need to get the id, so do u know how can i get the id? Thanks a lot!
    Regards,
    xiaoyu

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35
    This code doesn't compile in VC6


    CCommDbOverrideSettings* aSettings =
    CCommDbOverrideSettings::NewL(CCommDbOverrideSettings::EParamListFull, EDatabaseTypeIAP);
    CleanupStack::PushL(aSettings);

    aSettings->SetConnectionPreferenceOverride(pref);

    iAgent->StartOutgoing(*aSettings, iStatus); // async call

    CleanupStack::PopAndDestroy(); // aSettings

    You get

    error C2664: 'void __thiscall RGenericAgent::StartOutgoing(class CStoreableOverrideSettings &,class TRequestStatus &)' : cannot convert parameter 1 from 'class CCommDbOverrideSettings' to 'class CSt
    oreableOverrideSettings &'
    A reference that is not to 'const' cannot be bound to a non-lvalue

    This doesn't make much sense to me ...

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...html/C2664.asp

    Andy.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35
    To smallfish_ntu...

    I´m having the same problem, I can only get the name...did you solve how to get id?


    Thanks alot in advance!!



    jraluy

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    20
    I would be interested to!Trying to set a gprs connection by default in a program

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×