×

Discussion Board

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    463

    Re: Question for experts

    I'm still betting your problem is due to a missing c32exe.sis on the target device. Did you check z:\system\install? Both me and paul checked an E61 and got different answers, so I'm guessing that upgrading the E61 firmware gets you the stub SIS file for at least that device (though I'm never going to upgrade the firmware on this one, since it has d_exc in the ROM at the moment, which makes it incredibly useful for debugging
    Get Resolvr - The Zeroconf framework for Symbian OS free today. Make your IP networking applications fun and easy to use. http://www.novelinteractions.com/resolvr/
    Proud to be the only autorickshaw owner in Cambridge - http://blog.novelinteractions.com/images/tuktuk.jpg

  2. #17
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Question for experts

    The fact that it is saying the package is not installed is probably a good indication.

    I guess you are running an early debug ROM which may not have it on.

    I checked my N73 and its on there as well

  3. #18
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    463

    Re: Question for experts

    Checked my N91, no dice there either. It was on my N73 though. Seems very patchwork, but then again I've never updated the firmware on any of these devices.
    Get Resolvr - The Zeroconf framework for Symbian OS free today. Make your IP networking applications fun and easy to use. http://www.novelinteractions.com/resolvr/
    Proud to be the only autorickshaw owner in Cambridge - http://blog.novelinteractions.com/images/tuktuk.jpg

  4. #19
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    122

    Re: Question for experts

    Hm..
    I have just checked it on my E60, and I can't find c32exe.sis in this folder (z:\system\install).
    Is it means that I can't implement interceptions of TCP/IP packets on my handset anyway?
    And what I can do in this case? Only update firmware on my device?

  5. #20
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    463

    Re: Question for experts

    Yep, if you don't have c32exe.sis, you can't install an after market IP hook.

    Try updating the firmware to the latest version, but if that doesn't solve the problem, you're pretty much stuffed.
    Get Resolvr - The Zeroconf framework for Symbian OS free today. Make your IP networking applications fun and easy to use. http://www.novelinteractions.com/resolvr/
    Proud to be the only autorickshaw owner in Cambridge - http://blog.novelinteractions.com/images/tuktuk.jpg

  6. #21
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    122

    Re: Question for experts

    Thanks guys! Now I will search latest firmware for my device and try updating. I hope it is helps me.

  7. #22
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    280

    Re: Question for experts

    Hello;
    Did you get this working?
    I managed to install the esk file and prt, but the prt does not seem to be loaded (i.e. CreateProtocolFamilyL is never called).
    I have the same capabilities as other .prts I found.
    Regards

  8. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    103

    Re: Question for experts

    guys a question somehow in the same context, we have an application embeded as a rom image [includes a whole bunch of exe and dlls], to test the functionality we have stubs(same dll but limited functionality) to some of the dlls in this application.

    while making ROM image, we did only one stub sis file for the whole application.

    Now when we need to test, need to install the stubs(same dll but limited functionality), this where the problem appears.

    with a pkg type "PU" and contents exactly as original application, the stubbed dlls could be installed and used.

    However

    with a pkg type "PU" and only stubbed dlls, installation is fine but the dll from ROM is still used.

    do you have some pointers to allow installation of only stubbed dlls and making use of rest from ROM?

    would this work, if at the time of making ROM we make two stub sis files one with complete list of binaries for app and the other only with stubbed dlls, however uid,appname and vendor etc. for both pkg are same?

  9. #24
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    309

    Smile Re: Question for experts

    Thanks a lot.
    Last edited by liuxingyu_best; 2009-01-06 at 10:33.

  10. #25
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wiltshire, UK
    Posts
    3,644

    Re: Question for experts

    This thread is already being aswered on the Symbian board.
    http://developer.symbian.com/forum/t...essageID=81412

    Please remember we are very restricted about what we can say as these API's are Symbian partner API's and not public.

    See my post this morning with the corrected document name.
    Download Symbian OS now! [url]http://developer.symbian.org[/url]

Similar Threads

  1. a question about command and a question about s60
    By t4kesting in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-01-24, 08:21
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-01-08, 18:36
  3. Question on support of dll's
    By sanju_v in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-03-05, 13:09
  4. Sending data using iAcceptedSocket (Urgent question)
    By okegame in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1970-01-01, 02:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×