Discussion Board

S60 3rd FP1 troubles

Hello,

I am quite new in Symbian world, so first I want to apologize if my question(s) are trivial :D

I have installed the following on my XP system, on disk C: (where the system is):

- JRE 1.5.0_12 (couldn't find 1.5.0_6 as specified in ReleaseNotes for SDK 3rd FP1)
    -ActivePerl 5.6.1.631
    -S60 SDK 3rd FP1 for C++ (archive name: S60-SDK-200634-3[1].1-Cpp-f.1090b.zip)

According with S60_CPP_SDK_3rd_FP1_InstallationGuide_1.0.pdf, the next step is to verify if the installation is correct and the SDK functional, and for this to compile and run into emulator the HelloWorldBasic example.

I did the steps required:
    - bldmake bldfiles
    - abld build
    (all from Symbian\9.2\..\helloworldBasic\Group directory)

The result of abld build is:

make -r -f "\Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1_2\EPOC32\BUILD\Symbian\9.2\S60_3rd_FP1_2\S60Ex\HelloWorldBasic\group\Export.make" EXPORT VERBOSE=-s
    Nothing to do

When I start the emulator (epoc from Command line or from Start Menu), and go into Applications\Installed, the HelloWorldBAsic does not appear there, as the documentation says it should).

Has anyone any idea why? Am I doing something wrong or am I missing something?

Thank you!

Adriana.
    Last edited by Adriana_P; 2007-07-11 at 10:31.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: S60 3rd FP1 troubles

Commands
    abld build winscw udeb (for the emulator)
    abld build gcce urel (for target device)
    may do a bit more.
    However you cannot build for the emulator with a bare SDK, and it might also apply to building for the target device.

Thank you.

Using abld build winscw udeb I get now some compilings but also an error, and it hang at the end at "convert files...".

The error is: "ERROR: Unable to identify a valid CodeWarrior for Symbian OS installation"

I guess this is related to what you said:

However you cannot build for the emulator with a bare SDK(...)