Discussion Board

S60 3rd edition SDK Emulator query

Hi

I am new to Symbian development although not C++. I have just downloaded the SDK and carbide C++. I have created a Hello World (it feels weird coding that again) application and built it but I am unsure of how to run it on the emulator.

I have used the run command from the IDE which fires up the emulator but it just shows the phones environment. Do I have to run the program from inside this or should it automatically run Hello World.

I am sure I am missing something incredibly simple but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dan

Nokia Developer Champion

Smile Re: S60 3rd edition SDK Emulator query

Hello Dan,

Welcome to the Forum Nokia. :)

Quote Originally Posted by DanDanDan View Post
    Hi

I am new to Symbian development although not C++. I have just downloaded the SDK and carbide C++. I have created a Hello World (it feels weird coding that again) application and built it but I am unsure of how to run it on the emulator.

I have used the run command from the IDE which fires up the emulator but it just shows the phones environment. Do I have to run the program from inside this or should it automatically run Hello World.

I am sure I am missing something incredibly simple but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dan
    On Emulator you would find "Installations" folder. You need to narrow down in that folder and then open your "Helloworld" application from within that folder.

Kiran.

Re: S60 3rd edition SDK Emulator query

Hi thanks for the welcome and thanks for the speedy reply.

I have looked under the installed folder, all i get is App. Mgr and Goto. Under app manager is download app and under goto is calander, inbox and notes.

Do I have to map the phones file system to my PC's file system?

Thanks

Dan

Nokia Developer Champion