×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tampines, singapore
    Posts
    9

    Angry S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    Hi I get a failed to initialize session error when i try to run my midlet in netbeans using the s60 3rd edition fp1 emulator.
    I have posted a link to the error message screen capture below

    I'm using java 1.5 and net beans 5.5.1 and s60 emulator 3rd ed. FP1

    http://sanjangrero.com/images/emulator_error.jpg

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bangalore , India
    Posts
    4,429

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    Here is a recent similar discussion in this regard http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ialize+session

    Regards
    Gopal

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tampines, singapore
    Posts
    9

    Angry Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    hi thanks for the reply. i tried changing the memory as for that post.
    but i started getting the error after running 2 times. and when i start the emulator from the start menu it does not load up the OS at all. and I cannot click on menu button and go bak to the phone menu when my application is running. its a simple midlet. is there a way i can ask nokia staff to resolve these issues with the emulator?

    regards,
    sanjan

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    2

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    I have the same error and same sympthoms with S60 SDK 3d Ed FP1.
    WinXP SP2 + jre 1.6.0_02

    Emulator doesn't start from Start menu.

    Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    2

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    I found a solution. The problem is in JRE version. It should be version 1.4.1, 1.4.2 or 1.5.
    I edited file
    <SDK folder>\bin\epoc32\tools\ecmt\config\config.properties
    to line
    epdt.java.version.start=1.4.1,1.4.2,1.5,5.0
    added 1.6 value
    epdt.java.version.start=1.4.1,1.4.2,1.5,5.0,1.6

    Now emulator runs, connecting with NetBeans, no possible bugs found while.

    Good luck,
    Eugene

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tampines, singapore
    Posts
    9

    Angry Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    yes i have worked with jre 1.6 by configuring like that. it was working. but not always though. now i need to work with jre and jdk 1.5.
    as for the second post by balagopalks in this thread, when i change the memory limit in emulator preferences it works the next time i run it. but then if i run it again it gives out the same error. i think there is some error wit memory handling.
    is there any developer from nokia i can talk to?
    by the way it still does not start from the start menu.
    and i don't need to change any settings because i'm working with jdk & jre 1.5
    regards,
    Sanjan
    Last edited by sanjangr; 2007-08-23 at 04:32.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tampines, singapore
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs down Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    y no 1 seem to care abt this. is this hw nokia treat developers?
    y cant some one chk on this issue

  8. #8
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    I have forwarded this question to a person who knows more about the emulators

    Regards
    Hartti

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tampines, singapore
    Posts
    9

    Smile Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    thanks hartti. thanks a lot.

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    95

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    Hi,

    Does anybody here install the emulator successfully?
    I've tried to install the emulator with Netbeans 5.0, 5.5 and 5.5.1.
    I have never been able to start the emulator with the IDE's run button.

    What is the recommended configuration? What IDE works with this emulator?

    Thanks,
    Eyal.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tampines, singapore
    Posts
    9

    Talking Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    Hi Eyal,

    Have you configured S60 emulator as a Java platform in netbeans?
    if not,
    1. you can go to tools menu in netbeans IDE select Java platform manager,

    2. then click on add platform and you will be asked to choose the type of emulator to install.
    3. then select Java microedition platform emulator and click next it will scan for the installed emulators.

    4. in most cases it won't detect the s60 emulator. so click on the button Find more Java platform emulators and select your emulator folder.
    probably C:\S60\devices\S60_3rd_MIDP_SDK_FP1\

    5. now that you have configured the s60 emulator to use with netbeans.
    so right click on your project in the projects panel go to properties.

    6. then select s60 3rd edition FP1 SDK for MIDP and in the device list choose s60 emulator and click OK.

    7. then click on the clean and build main project and after successful build click on run main project.

    8. hopefully this will startup the s60 emulator and run your program. if you get an error like in the screen shot i have posted in my first post in this thread. please feel free to come back and report.

    Best Regards,

    Sanjan

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    95

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    Now it works. I Have added the S60 emulator to my Netbeans 5.0 with Mobility pack, runnung over JDK version 1.6.0_02, and it works as expected.
    I have added the emulator as "Custom Java micro edition platform emulator".

    Thanks, and good luck with the installation.
    Eyal.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tampines, singapore
    Posts
    9

    Thumbs down Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    Hi Hartti,
    Is your friend still working on this issue?
    Is that something to do with the java version.
    but as for my knowledge this was developed for jre 5.
    please update me

    thanks and regards

    sanjan

  14. #14
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    Have not heard back from him. I'll ask him again.

    Hartti

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    17

    Re: S60 3rd Edition FP1 failed to initialize session

    i had this error my self ,rifgt click on your project select properties
    make sure the Device:
    drop down menu says s60Emulator
    and NOT s60Device

    well right now im facing other issues with the emulator i may open a new thread
    hopes that will work for you.

    hartti: if your guy is coming tell him to check on my thread also:

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=115725
    Last edited by kantzuker; 2007-09-08 at 01:45.

Similar Threads

  1. E70 + Netbeans + S60 SDK --> failed to initialize session
    By impesa in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-07-13, 22:04
  2. mmfcodec.h in s60 3rd edition FP1
    By ecio83 in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-06-13, 13:22
  3. Problem with registering S60 3rd Edition FP1 emulator?
    By mayur_24 in forum Tools and SDK Feedback (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-12-12, 07:21
  4. What is going on with Vibration on S60?
    By amd_rikus in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-06-16, 00:29

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×