×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: LANGUAGE=

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    LANGUAGE=

    Hi,

    I'm trying to add some languages to my package file - I have a few 'FT' files to display during installation.

    For 3rd, I currently use something like this :

    Code:
    IF LANGUAGE=31
    ...zh files...
    ELSE
    ...en files...
    ENDIF
    (IIRC, I couldn't get the other construct to work)

    So, I want to add Russian (as well as some others). I can't find a list of codes for each language, and saying 'LANGUAGE=RU' doesn't work (that'd be too convenient, I think).

    I can't find any list of numerical codes in the SDK help (only the two letter codes, eg "ZH", "EN", and "RU").

    Any idea where they are enumerated?
    Last edited by davidmaxwaterman; 2007-08-23 at 04:21. Reason: there can be only one (Max)

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    2,146

    Re: LANGUAGE=

    Hi check the language codes here.

    » Symbian OS v9.1 » Symbian OS Tools And Utilities » Installation reference » Package file format » (language code table)

    Hope this helps..

    cheers
    mayank

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: LANGUAGE=

    Quote Originally Posted by mayankkedia View Post
    Hi check the language codes here.

    » Symbian OS v9.1 » Symbian OS Tools And Utilities » Installation reference » Package file format » (language code table)

    Hope this helps..

    cheers
    mayank
    Yes, I'd seen that, but as I said, those codes don't work in the pkg file. It seems to require the numeric codes (S60_3RD_MR).

    I have found codes that seem to work and they're in the .../epoc32/include/e32const.h file. Not very obvious, to say the least.

    Is there something I'm missing?

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    2,146

    Re: LANGUAGE=

    Well i dont think you are missing anything :-)

    Check rater nice articles from Symbian here

    http://developer.symbian.com/main/do...tions_v1.0.pdf
    http://developer.symbian.com/main/do...plications.pdf

    Hope that is of help..:-)

    Cheers
    mayank

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: LANGUAGE=

    Quote Originally Posted by mayankkedia View Post
    Well i dont think you are missing anything :-)

    Check rater nice articles from Symbian here

    http://developer.symbian.com/main/do...tions_v1.0.pdf
    http://developer.symbian.com/main/do...plications.pdf

    Hope that is of help..:-)

    Cheers
    mayank
    As far as my cursory look through those docs tell me, they don't seem to detail the method I'm using (ie IF LANGUAGE=) but use the other method (that I couldn't get to work).

    However, one curious thing that occurs to me is that at the top of the pkg file, there's a '&LANGUAGES' line that *does* seem to work just fine with the two-letter code (eg "EN", "ZH", and "RU"). So, it's strange that the 'IF LANGUAGE=' doesn't work with the same code.

    Anyway, it seems to be working, so...thanks :)

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: LANGUAGE=

    ok, another little addendum question....or two...

    1) I'm currently resigned to using this construct :

    Code:
    IF LANGUAGE=01
    ...
    ENDIF
    IF LANGUAGE=02
    ...
    ENDIF
    IF LANGUAGE=16
    ...
    ENDIF
    I'm doing this because I wasn't able to get an 'ELSEIF' to work. Can someone give an example?

    2) I notice that I get the option of the several languages when I install. I get options for languages that the phone doesn't support. I'm fairly sure all languages supported for just installing, so I am wondering if I can restrict the choice to only those that are supported by the target device.
    Is there a way?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    386

    Re: LANGUAGE=

    Quote Originally Posted by davidmaxwaterman View Post
    2) I notice that I get the option of the several languages when I install. I get options for languages that the phone doesn't support. I'm fairly sure all languages supported for just installing, so I am wondering if I can restrict the choice to only those that are supported by the target device.
    Is there a way?
    To answer myself on this one, it looks like I was wrong to assume that all languages are supported for installing. I selected Russian during the installation of my application on my Chinese phone and it displays the FT files in Russian just fine.

    I wonder how that works...does it include the fonts [I guess I really mean glyphs] in the files too (only the ones needed for the file, I suppose)?
    Last edited by davidmaxwaterman; 2007-08-30 at 06:48. Reason: glyph?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×