×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    33

    Smile can i use any module i want in pys60?

    hi everyone. I'm just a beginner of PyS60. I'm wondering if it is possible to use every module of python library on the s60 environment. Say, I need to use DOM and 4suite,which is a third party lib. Is it the same situation to develop python project on s60 as on a PC?

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,796

    Re: can i use any module i want in pys60?

    hi everyone. I'm just a beginner of PyS60. I'm wondering if it is possible to use every module of python library on the s60 environment. Say, I need to use DOM and 4suite,which is a third party lib. Is it the same situation to develop python project on s60 as on a PC?
    Hello yanhua

    See actually python for s60 can be compared with normal course programming on the PC.But its not all the same.And talking about modules--You can use the inbuilt modules directly by importing them..Moreover there are new modules coming up which you need to install on ur device befor using them.

    Hope that helps...

    -Pankaj Nathani

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    33

    Talking Re: can i use any module i want in pys60?

    i tried this:

    copy minidom.py to C:\S60\devices\S60_3rd_MIDP_SDK_FP1\PythonForS60_SDK_3rdEd\epoc32\winscw\c\resource

    but when i try to import minidom,the cosole says 'no module named minidom'

    ??
    Last edited by yanhua; 2007-09-12 at 20:51.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,796

    Re: can i use any module i want in pys60?

    Quote Originally Posted by yanhua View Post
    i tried this:

    copy minidom.py to C:\S60\devices\S60_3rd_MIDP_SDK_FP1\PythonForS60_SDK_3rdEd\epoc32\winscw\c\resource

    but when i try to import minidom,the cosole says 'no module named minidom'

    ??
    Hey yanhua,

    U should install the libraries on the phone.



    -Pankaj Nathani

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    33

    Re: can i use any module i want in pys60?

    Quote Originally Posted by croozeus View Post
    Hey yanhua,

    U should install the libraries on the phone.



    -Pankaj Nathani

    right,Pankaj, that's the point! But I dunno where should I install the libraries?

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,796

    Re: can i use any module i want in pys60?

    @yanhua

    1st you have to transfer the lib file (.py) in your device.Python and Pythonshell must be installed on ur device before hand.Now when u open this lib file the file opens with python and asks you if u want to install it as a python scrips or a python lib module...You got to choose the latter.Then its installed...

    Hope u got it,

    -Pankaj Nathani

Similar Threads

  1. Does PyS60 have Infrared module?
    By bandz_fab in forum Symbian
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-09-08, 13:52
  2. Carbide.j 1.5 and Netbeans 5.5 beta 2
    By ovjo12 in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-06-11, 05:43
  3. how to distribute pys60 based apps?
    By chall3ng3r in forum Symbian
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-03-27, 14:13
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-03-06, 11:56
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-02-02, 10:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×