×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    78

    [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Hi,

    I just updated the wlantools module I made to scan for Wi-Fi networks.

    You can look at http://www-rp.lip6.fr/~berger/pys60extensions.html to get details about data returned.

    Now it outputs : Channel, SSID, BSSID, Capabilities, Supported Rates, All information Elements present in frames...

    Feel free to contact me if you have any problem.
    Compiled (not signed) versions are available here : http://www-rp.lip6.fr/~berger/pys60_exts/ (wlantools-xxx)

    Should work on N95 and N80 phones.
    Christophe Berger

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium (Europe)
    Posts
    1,352

    Thumbs up Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Hello Bergerc ,

    Thanks for the updating module but ... I found another great module : elocation

    Extended GSM location module

    Location module from PyS60 does not give enough informations about the CelId the phone is locked on, here is an improvement to get more informations (Technology used, Name of the operator...)

    BRAVO et encore merci !

    Cyke64
    pys60 1.4.5 and 2.0.0, pygame, PyS60 CE on E90 and 5800 !

    Find my pys60 extension modules on cyke64.googlepages.com

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,796

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Hello Cyke64

    Hey this is a really cool new module...I mean it is really more helpful then the location module.
    NetworkStatus, Network Mode,NetworkId, CountryCode, AreaCode, DisplayTag
    These are some of the things the modules returns that are really handy...But again it has a drawback.Its for 3rd edition devices.How are 2nd edition pple gonna do without it??????
    Anyways its a Good one
    Pankaj Nathani
    www.croozeus.com

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    78

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Quote Originally Posted by cyke64 View Post
    Thanks for the updating module but ... I found another great module : elocation
    Oh, I forgot to announce this one

    thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by croozeus View Post
    These are some of the things the modules returns that are really handy...But again it has a drawback.Its for 3rd edition devices.How are 2nd edition pple gonna do without it??????
    I think it should be easy to port it to 2nd edition...
    Christophe Berger

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Wow great to see new libraries!!

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Hi I tried the new features but they don't seem to make much sense.

    >>> elocation.extended_gsm_location()
    {'NetworkId': u'260', 'DisplayTag': u'T-Mobile', 'NetworkMode': 'GSM/GPRS', 'Net
    workStatus': 'Current', 'CountryCode': u'310', 'AreaKnown': 1, 'AreaCode': 5193,
    'NetworkAccessTechnology': 'GSM', 'LongName': u'T-Mobile', 'ShortName': u'T-Mob
    ile', 'CellId': 43033}

    The area code doesn't match any existent one, and neither does the country code.. what is areaknown?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    78

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by federico2929 View Post
    The area code doesn't match any existent one, and neither does the country code.. what is areaknown?
    Well, country code 310 is assigned to the USA... it's strange.
    Did you compare the output of location.gsm_location() with that one ?
    they should be identical... I don't know why it is false, the phone was locked on that tower.

    AreaKnown is used to determine if data returned is valid, if AreaKnown is false (= 0) then information delivered by the function is only partial (You won't have all the dictionary keys) and can be false.
    Christophe Berger

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    So is there a list of Area Code to city match? and the same with countries?

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    78

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Quote Originally Posted by federico2929 View Post
    So is there a list of Area Code to city match? and the same with countries?
    I don't know any list of area code matching cities/areas, but you can find list of country codes on many web sites (wikipedia is the easiest way, but may not be the best source)
    Christophe Berger

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Here is the list that I found:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...ring_Plan_Area

    and I cant find anywhere in there 310 as the country code for the US, I can't even find that number in the website for that matter, since the country code for the US is 1

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Finland, Helsinki
    Posts
    323

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Quote Originally Posted by federico2929 View Post
    Here is the list that I found:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...ring_Plan_Area
    and I cant find anywhere in there 310 as the country code for the US - -
    Probably the case is not about "country CALLING codes" at all but Mobile Country Codes (MCC).

    First hit with google (mcc + gsm):
    http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/..._c/mwgfmcc.htm

  12. #12
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    54

    Re: [announce] Wi-Fi scanning module update

    Quote Originally Posted by federico2929 View Post
    Hi I tried the new features but they don't seem to make much sense.

    >>> elocation.extended_gsm_location()
    {'NetworkId': u'260', 'DisplayTag': u'T-Mobile', 'NetworkMode': 'GSM/GPRS', 'Net
    workStatus': 'Current', 'CountryCode': u'310', 'AreaKnown': 1, 'AreaCode': 5193,
    'NetworkAccessTechnology': 'GSM', 'LongName': u'T-Mobile', 'ShortName': u'T-Mob
    ile', 'CellId': 43033}

    The area code doesn't match any existent one, and neither does the country code.. what is areaknown?

    Thanks

    Does any of these fields correspond to the data shown in phone when we activate display cell info ?

Similar Threads

  1. [announce] sysagent module
    By cyke64 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-01-28, 12:52
  2. [announce] cenrep module for 3rd
    By cyke64 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2007-12-05, 17:14
  3. [announce] Call status and key press module
    By agrauballe in forum Symbian
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2007-09-19, 01:45
  4. Carbide.j 1.5 and Netbeans 5.5 beta 2
    By ovjo12 in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-06-11, 05:43
  5. [announce] Enhanced Graphics module
    By GameDude in forum Symbian
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-03-18, 18:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×