Discussion Board

Red face Button labels over fullscreen movie

Hello all,

I'm a professional Java programmer preparing for J2ME development. As usual, I need to scratch my personal itch - as it is with most open source projects. Before I set off to make my own media player, I thought I might ask here first if anyone should know about more subtle solution.

The problem being: I bought Nokia 3109 as it has most funcs my previous 6230 (which I have for like 4 years, it sure is a keeper), but without camera, which I can't take into production environments, you know. It has movie player, but when I switch full screen, two HUGE contrasty button labels hover permanently over the picture: Pause, Back. It's unwatchable, cos the font covers like 1/3 of the image area. Who could have done such monstrosity is beyond me... Normal button labels are in small, black, thin font, positioned horizontally just "above" HW buttons. But these two? Vertical, gargantuous, bold and with a white outline. It's almost like on purpose, to make fullscreen useless...

Now, does anybody have a clue as to how to get rid of these? I'd prefer some config change over reprogramming the whole app, but I'm afraid it won't be as easy as that. I haven't found any S40 movie player alternative, so I'm getting ready for my own implementation and starting to read media API specs... :-/

Perhaps internationalization might help - redefining the text to empty strings... but I don't know yet how it works on Nokias.

Thanks for any suggestions, source to start with or better yet, config hack or ready-made alt. movie player URL to help save me some time!

See you,
    David

Re: Button labels over fullscreen movie

That's great! Thank you all for trying!!