×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    My program is developed in the SDK 2nd and now we need let it run in the SDK 3rd. Through some modify, the program can run in the emulator of SDK 3rd, then compile it with gcce and make the sis with development signed. when I download the signed sis in my mobile phone and run it, there is a note dialog displays "System error !" and then there is not any information.

    my program's .pkg file is as follow:

    Code:
    "d:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\release\GCCE\UREL\Test.exe"				  -"!:\sys\bin\Test.exe"
    "d:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\Data\z\resource\apps\Test.r01"         -"!:\resource\apps\Test\Test.rsc"
    "d:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\Data\z\resource\apps\Test_CAPTION.r01" -"!:\resource\apps\Test\Test_caption.rsc"
    "d:\Symbian\9.1\S60_3rd\Epoc32\Data\z\private\10003a3f\apps\Test_reg.R01"   -"!:\private\10003a3f\import\apps\Test_reg.RSC"
    ;"Epoc32\data\z\system\apps\Test\Test.aif"         -"!:\system\apps\Test\Test.aif"
    problem seems awful and unique,
    hope some suggestions.
    thx deeply in advance.
    Last edited by luohaibo; 2007-11-30 at 06:46. Reason: the title mistake

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,037

    Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Hi,

    once you were not able to run it on emulator, it does not make sense to put it on the device. Does the application icon appear on the emulator?

    If you are not able to debug the C++ code on emuletor and you get system error before the E32Main() method is reached, it means that something very basic fails, like you did not chnage all resource files properly or something like this.

    BR
    STeN

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Quote Originally Posted by stenlik View Post
    Hi,

    once you were not able to run it on emulator, it does not make sense to put it on the device. Does the application icon appear on the emulator?

    If you are not able to debug the C++ code on emuletor and you get system error before the E32Main() method is reached, it means that something very basic fails, like you did not chnage all resource files properly or something like this.

    BR
    STeN
    firstly thanks for your attention very much.
    Yes, the icon can appear on the emulator well and debug it on the emulator, everything seems OK. So is there some difference in the .pkg file format between the 2nd SDk and 3rd SDK? I can't confirm the mothed to find where the problem occurs.

    must thx again.

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    2,037

    Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Hi,

    so it is O.K on emulator (sorry I didn't read the first thread carefully).

    Is it possible that you have some #ifdef WINSCW so the different code is executed on the device?

    Did you try to display extended panic code?
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ded_panic_code

    Once you were able to run it on emulaotr, sign it and install it might be that it crash on some line code, which runs on emulator, but it causes the problem to the device. Can you debug the application directly on the phone?

    If not could you try to log something into file to know if the execution of the application started?

    I did not see in yor pkg the application icon. Did you use the default one?

    Could you confirm that all UIDs you are using are same in all places?

    Could you cut&paste here your REG resource file?

    BR
    STeN

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Quote Originally Posted by stenlik View Post
    Hi,

    so it is O.K on emulator (sorry I didn't read the first thread carefully).

    Is it possible that you have some #ifdef WINSCW so the different code is executed on the device?

    Did you try to display extended panic code?
    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ded_panic_code

    Once you were able to run it on emulaotr, sign it and install it might be that it crash on some line code, which runs on emulator, but it causes the problem to the device. Can you debug the application directly on the phone?

    If not could you try to log something into file to know if the execution of the application started?

    I did not see in yor pkg the application icon. Did you use the default one?

    Could you confirm that all UIDs you are using are same in all places?

    Could you cut&paste here your REG resource file?

    BR
    STeN
    Yeah, you have given me so many hints, let me try step by step.
    1, there is no WINSCW macro found in my project.

    2, try to display extended panic code using the page said, but also, just a "System error !" note.

    3, try to debug on the device with Carbide C++, but the result is: when the application have downloaded on the devices,successfully, then, the Carbide C++ pop up and dialog with the info "TRKProtocolPlugin: Failed to launch the application(Either intalling the application may have failed or dependent libraries may be missing.)"

    4,log is trying now, hope will work.

    5, yes,the icon is appear the default one.

    6, the UIDs is the same one exactly.

    7, the REG resource file is as follow:

    Code:
    #include <appinfo.rh>
    UID2 KUidAppRegistrationResourceFile
    UID3 0xA6001C66 
    RESOURCE APP_REGISTRATION_INFO
    {
    app_file="SQRCODE";
    embeddability=KAppNotEmbeddable;
    newfile=KAppDoesNotSupportNewFile;
    }

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    62

    Question Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Quote Originally Posted by luohaibo View Post
    "TRKProtocolPlugin: Failed to launch the application(Either intalling the application may have failed or dependent libraries may be missing.)"
    I am seeing the same message from Carbide.c++ v1.3. I have an N95 running firmware V21.0.016. I installed the TRK file from the V1.3 directory named s60_3_1_app_trk_2_8_7.sisx. I am using a USB connection because I don't have a reliable Bluetooth dongle at present.

    Thoughts?
    Last edited by UncleOp; 2008-04-08 at 20:45. Reason: wrong icon

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    70

    Unhappy Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Hi, i posted almost the same question a fewa days ago, but i'm still stuck with it, my S60 app run perfect on emulator but once signed and installed it quickly shows

    Initializing
    Please Wait...

    and then it quits

    dont know what it is, please i need some help

    Update, i figure it out is the RSocket object in my App that is not working well on the phone, i'll post this on other section
    Last edited by xchewy; 2008-04-23 at 23:38. Reason: found why it dont work

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,559

    Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Quote Originally Posted by xchewy View Post
    Hi, i posted almost the same question a fewa days ago, but i'm still stuck with it, my S60 app run perfect on emulator but once signed and installed it quickly shows

    Initializing
    Please Wait...

    and then it quits

    dont know what it is, please i need some help

    Update, i figure it out is the RSocket object in my App that is not working well on the phone, i'll post this on other section

    Well, you could try the extended panic code trick to find what exactly could be going wrong.

    Well another way you could try is logging. All these if you dont have the option of on-device debug.

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    287

    Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    When I tried to compile and make sis, i got the following error:

    Code:
    C:\Symbian\Carbide\workspace3\are\sis>makesis are_EKA2.pkg
    Processing are_EKA2.pkg...
    are_EKA2.pkg(14) : error: number out of range
    I have checked the pkg file where I found these:
    Code:
    14#{"are EXE"},(0xE303B92E),1,0,0
    
    
    15;Localised Vendor name
    16%{"Vendor-EN"}
    
    17;Unique Vendor name
    18:"Vendor"

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,348

    Re: why program can not run in mobile phone ?

    Quote Originally Posted by arun09 View Post
    When I tried to compile and make sis, i got the following error:

    Code:
    C:\Symbian\Carbide\workspace3\are\sis>makesis are_EKA2.pkg
    Processing are_EKA2.pkg...
    are_EKA2.pkg(14) : error: number out of range
    Which SDK version you are using? If S60 2nd ed. SDK then check this - http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=149489

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-03-30, 00:13
  2. Are mobile phone keys suitable for intensive action gaming?
    By Michael_M in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2003-09-11, 16:42
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-03-20, 09:36
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1970-01-01, 02:00

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×