×

Discussion Board

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23
  1. #16
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    63

    Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    Great News!

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    Hi,

    I have a different problem now, when I upload my application it does not recognize that it's signed(The vendor is 'Unknown') and I am not allowed to set permissions on my application ie. only 'Always ask' or 'Never allow' I need to set it to 'Always allow' otherwise my application will throw more prompts than any user can handle, how is that possible?

    Thanks

  3. #18
    (Retired) Nokia Developer Admin.
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,664

    Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    You may need to take this directly to the RDA support people if you send me an e-mail with all the descriptions I will forward it on for you or have someone contact you regarding your problems.

    Ron

  4. #19
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    413

    Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    Quote Originally Posted by Wainamoinen View Post
    Hi,

    I have a different problem now, when I upload my application it does not recognize that it's signed(The vendor is 'Unknown') and I am not allowed to set permissions on my application ie. only 'Always ask' or 'Never allow' I need to set it to 'Always allow' otherwise my application will throw more prompts than any user can handle, how is that possible?

    Thanks
    I'm assuming this is a J2ME application (as I've seen you posting on the Java boards). With which certificate did you sign the application with? Verisign? Thawte? I would recommented checking out this wiki article:

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...curity_Domains

    For example for N95 the API access rights are the following:

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...2C_S60_3rd_FP1

    If the application is handled as unsigned, it belong to the untrusted 3rd party domain where "always allowed"-settings are hardly available. I would start with checking the .jad file: make sure it has all the mandatory attributes set and the signature is in it's place:

    http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.ph...ies/attributes

  5. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    Hi,

    Yes I have figured it out, you need to change to 'Show all files' and select the *.jad file on some phones you'll get an 'Invalid jar exception' than switch to uploading the *.jar

  6. #21
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    321

    Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    Hi All,

    I am able to connect to device.
    but my problem is starting after transferring the SIS file
    after uploading happens, installation of the application dont start at all.

    no erros is displayed

    i have waited for 10 min but with no use.

    can i know what might be going wrong.
    please help me in this regard

  7. #22
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    413

    Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    Quote Originally Posted by vinayakak View Post
    Hi All,

    I am able to connect to device.
    but my problem is starting after transferring the SIS file
    after uploading happens, installation of the application dont start at all.

    no erros is displayed

    i have waited for 10 min but with no use.

    can i know what might be going wrong.
    please help me in this regard
    How big is the installation file? On average the upload should take just seconds. Does this happen only with some specific device or any device? Did you check (by holding the menu-button down) that the installation prompt didn't go to background? Is the behaviour persistant if you try using the file transfer-function to send the file to device or is it limited only to "install application"-function?

    To me this should like a potential firewall problem on your side, or then there's something fishy with the device you were using (in which case I'd format it).

  8. #23
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    321

    Question Re: Problems using the Remote Device Access

    Hi i am facing this problem at present wit E61 device.
    after installing my sis file which is 1.4 mb, installation doesnt start at all..

    other devices i have not checked

    thanks for support

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. access point on real device problem
    By morost in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-10-25, 12:25
  2. Problems with on device debugging on N80 device
    By grai in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-08-16, 15:05
  3. Problems with Output on the screen on real device
    By aheinzhof in forum Symbian C++
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-08-18, 10:22
  4. Internet Access point on CDMA device
    By chrisdon2121 in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-06-13, 14:13
  5. Address of remote device
    By santoshudipi in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-09-21, 05:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •