This is a question for developers of S60 !
Please comment on this!
Thank you!

I'm a mobile application designer developing mobile solutions for business customers. My area of interest is messaging.

I've had a few E series phones over the past years. Currently I'm using an E51 which I love! I've had E50 and E61 as well. I haven't come accross to such a well designed and built phone by Nokia like the E51. Well done Nokia.

However, I'm interested in your experience regarding E-mail. There is a bug or feature (I couldn't decide yet) which has been there in all S60 based phones and is still there in the newest ones.

I'm using IMAP based E-mail because that fits to my daily workflow. I'm handling my e-mail box from multiple computers (home, work, whatever) so IMAP is the solution for me, I don't want to download via POP3 my mails to all the PCs. My clients are set to check for new e-mail every 5 minutes or so. My phone does this periodic checking only in 2 hour intervals over Edge or 3G.

And here comes the problem. It is about how S60 firmware considers an email to be a new one, or an existing one. You see, let's suppose you get a new e-mail to your mailbox. You are out of office, not at home, somewhere on the way. Your phone checks e-mails periodically and informs you about this new e-mail with sound, with vibration and via the active standby plugin. Cool.
What happens if you are in the office. You sit in front of your PC and your mail client is running. It checks for new mails in your IMAP mailbox every 5 minutes. Voila, you have a new mail. You client tells you this. OK. Your phone is gonna check new mails only an hour from now, so it's quiet.

You read your new email on the PC and mark the recently received mail as "read". OK, cool, no new e-mails.