Discussion Board

Question How to handle events (e.g. button click)

Hi there,

happy new year :)

i am new to this whole symbian os programming stuff and recently got started with it so dont kill me if i ask something stupid :).

ok heres the issue. because i am new to this stuff i want to create an application that simply handles a button click. so i digged in the uiq developer reference for words like "event", "click", "pointer" and so on. i came to the conclusion that a "button click" has to be a window server event. is that right?

my code looks pretty simple but the RunL() function that should be called when a event occures isnt called at all. i dont know why. i have written the following lines:

Code:
    //first i declared my own class derived from CActive
    class CNewClass : public CActive
    {
    // in the ConstructL functuion that is called from NewL / NewLC 
    // i connect to the window server
    void CNewClass::ConstructL()
    {
     CActiveScheduler::Add( this );
     iWs.Connect();
     IssueRequest();
    }

// Request window server events
    void CNewClass::IssueRequest()
    {
     iWs.EventReady(&iStatus); // request an event
     SetActive(); // now active
    }

//the RunL method
    void CNewClass::RunL()
    {
     //here comes a few lines setting the text of a button to a
     //value of a counter variable, its my way to see wether the
     //RunL() is called or not

//request further events
     IssueRequest();
    }
    }
    I create an instance of the class when i click a menu entry.

I think this i how the howto describes it in the UIQ developer reference. So why is RunL() not called? (please dont answer with a link to the SDK SymbianNotCompatible\Graphics\WS\Simple example because it doesnt work, it crashes when i start the emulator and also it crashes on my P1i)