×

Discussion Board

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 37

Thread: PAMP Your Phone

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    thanks, that helped!

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Hi Johan,

    Here's what I've found.

    When POSTing, does it make a difference if you use different browsers?
    I hadn't tried anything but firefox, but I've done some investigation and here's what I've got.

    Firefox 2.0.0.11 (Windows XP)
    Fails with 400 Error - Bad Request

    IE 7.0.5730.11 (Windows XP)
    Works Fine

    n95 Built in Browser (on n95)
    Doesn't fail with a response, but also doesn't send any POST data thru.

    Opera 8.65 Build 9712 (on n95)
    Works Fine

    Is that behaviour consistent - is it always like that or just occasionally?
    The behavior is consistent within each browser. i.e. each time I try a post on Firefox, I get a Bad Request.

    What device do you have?
    N95 Original

    Which Open-C version did you install; the first release, or the second?
    The openc_ssl.sis contained in pamp_with_htdocs_on_e.zip (v 0.01.00)

    Do you access over WLAN or using the Raccoon or MWS gateway?
    WLAN
    If WLAN, do you use an ad-hoc connection or infrastructure?
    Both

    The main reason i'm trying to POST is that I've developed
    a PHP file editor application that will allow easier development
    of PAMP software using a standard browser. A GET request will work, but there's an underlying limit to how much data can be sent using GET

    Thanks for your help

    Gavin

  3. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    This is awesome!

    Did anyone get phpmyadmin working?
    It's bugging out on me.

    Already tried an .htaccess file with the following

    session.save_path c:/system/temp/
    session.save_handler user

    session files get created by remain at 0 bytes.

    Any ideas?

    Johan F.

  4. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by gwmitchell View Post

    [ ... ]
    n95 Built in Browser (on n95)
    Doesn't fail with a response, but also doesn't send any POST data thru.

    [ ... ]
    That's what I thought, see my 2nd known issue over here.

    Johan F

  5. #20
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Hi Gavin,

    Quote Originally Posted by gwmitchell View Post
    Is that behaviour consistent - is it always like that or just occasionally?
    The behavior is consistent within each browser. i.e. each time I try a post on Firefox, I get a Bad Request.
    Ok, my bet is that Firefox sends the HTTP request in multiple TCP/IP packets, while Opera and IE sends it in one. That should be irrelevant, of course, but could be an explanation, in which case we are talking about a bug in the web server.

    If you feel an itch to investigate further, install Wireshark (former Ethereal) on your PC and check what goes over the line.

    What device do you have?
    N95 Original
    If you havn't updated the firmware to the latest version, you could try if that would change anything.

    Which Open-C version did you install; the first release, or the second?
    The openc_ssl.sis contained in pamp_with_htdocs_on_e.zip (v 0.01.00)
    The SIS files included in the zip are from the second release. If you feel like experimenting you could try downloading the first Open C release, install the SIS files from there and see whether anything changes. At least local browsing should not work at all

    The main reason i'm trying to POST is that I've developed
    a PHP file editor application that will allow easier development
    of PAMP software using a standard browser.
    That's great - hopefully we can sort these problems out.

    Johan

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by jhnwkmn View Post
    Hi Gavin,

    Ok, my bet is that Firefox sends the HTTP request in multiple TCP/IP packets, while Opera and IE sends it in one. That should be irrelevant, of course, but could be an explanation, in which case we are talking about a bug in the web server.

    If you feel an itch to investigate further, install Wireshark (former Ethereal) on your PC and check what goes over the line.
    Ok, from what I've found using ethereal, it looks like you're correct, Firefox does send it's POST data in multiple TCP packets. 1 Packet for the Headers and 1 for the payload / form data. IE Sends both sections in one packet.

    Quote Originally Posted by jhnwkmn View Post
    If you havn't updated the firmware to the latest version, you could try if that would change anything.
    I'm currently on 20.0.015 (Although, there's rumours about a
    21.0.001 Version knocking around

    Quote Originally Posted by jhnwkmn View Post
    The SIS files included in the zip are from the second release. If you feel like experimenting you could try downloading the first Open C release, install the SIS files from there and see whether anything changes. At least local browsing should not work at all
    Will try this next ...

    Thanks for your help

    Gavin

  7. #22
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by gwmitchell View Post
    Ok, from what I've found using ethereal, it looks like you're correct, Firefox does send it's POST data in multiple TCP packets. 1 Packet for the Headers and 1 for the payload / form data. IE Sends both sections in one packet.
    Thanks for verifying that - I will have to investigate this further.

    Johan

  8. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Hi,
    is there a plan for a php extension to access phone functions. that would take it beyond database applications for the platform!

  9. #24
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by bmert View Post
    Hi,
    is there a plan for a php extension to access phone functions. that would take it beyond database applications for the platform!
    Such extensions exist already and are available in the release, so basically it's just the documentation that is missing. But that will be provided shortly.

    Johan

  10. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by jhnwkmn View Post
    Thanks for verifying that - I will have to investigate this further.

    Johan
    Do you have any news about this bug ?

    I obtained the same faulty behaviour using E51's and N95-8GB's built-in web browser with Mobile Web Server (Raccoon) 0.11 (not the full PAMP stack, so maybe this is not the right thread !); the navigation occurs locally (apache is installed on the same phone where the browser is running); if you use the gw, everything works, since the gw/connector rejoins the TCP packets, but for local browsing using the gw is not so good

  11. #26
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by tilab123 View Post
    Do you have any news about this bug?
    Yes. It actually seems that there is a problem with how Open-C handles a select with a timeout. I have a workaround, but I need to verify that something else is not broken by it.

    Johan

  12. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by jhnwkmn View Post
    Yes. It actually seems that there is a problem with how Open-C handles a select with a timeout. I have a workaround, but I need to verify that something else is not broken by it.

    Johan
    Just to make you know, and to be sure we are talking about the same problem, the "errors" you get when browsing locally by the built-in phone's webbrowser (e51 for example) are a bit different from the ones you get using firefox: since the phone's webbrowser breaks the post request differently, you don't even get any errors at all !
    It seems that the bug (I don't know if it's the same one when using firefox, but it may be) makes the server miss the first byte of the second TCP segment so, this time (built-in browser), that first byte is the first char of the post data.

    For example, using the following html page (test.html)
    HTML Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" CONTENT="-1">
    <title>
    Test (view params)
    </title></head>
    <body>
    Test (view params)
    <br><br>
    <br>Post:<br>
    <form action="index.py/test_show_params" method="post">
    <input TYPE="text" name="msg"/><br>
    <input type="hidden" name="hid_param" value="value of hidden param"/>
    <input type="submit" value="Send">
    </form>
    </body>
    </html>
    which calls the following python code (index.py)

    Code:
    # index.py
    def test_show_params(req,**params):
        req.content_type="text/html"
        req.write("""\
    <html>
    <head>
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Expires" CONTENT="-1">
    <title>
    Test bad param name
    </title></head>
    <body>
    Test bad param name
    <br><br>""")
        
        req.write("raw: "+str(params)+"<br>\n")
                   
        req.write("""\
    </body>
    </html>""")
    (put both files in dir apache/mod_pyhton/py/ of a standard Raccoon installation)
    you get (when you go by the phone's browser to test.html and press send) a wrong name for the first post parameter: "sg" instead of the right "msg".

    This behaviour is compatible with the error you get with firefox (this time the missing char is the one of the Content-Type header, the first "C", so you get a bad request error).

    In the case of the bad parameter name, you can circumvent the problem (dummy first param), but if the break into TCP segments is made in a different place, .....

    So, to summarize, are we talking of the same problem ?

  13. #28
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by tilab123 View Post
    ...
    So, to summarize, are we talking of the same problem ?
    No we were not, but I was able to repeat this.

    Thanks for pointing it out - I will look into it.

    Johan

  14. #29
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by jhnwkmn View Post
    No we were not, but I was able to repeat this.
    Apparently the problems were the same after all, because the fix for the other problem also fixed this. Anyway, in the next release this should work the way it is supposed to.

    Johan

  15. #30
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by bmert View Post
    is there a plan for a php extension to access phone functions. that would take it beyond database applications for the platform!
    Please read this posting.

    Johan

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The Nokia 9210i is the shittiest nokia phone ever!
    By awyeah in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-10-18, 10:31
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-08-30, 16:06
  3. Asterisk REregister failing
    By kolbi-nokia in forum VoIP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-08-15, 19:13
  4. How to transfer phone book from 8210 to 6300?
    By daliansong in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-05-04, 15:50
  5. Anyone with a nokia 3330? Can anyone help me to copy phone memory to the sim?
    By pabmania in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-29, 22:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •