×

Discussion Board

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: PAMP Your Phone

  1. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    I have installed PAMP on a Nokia E70. What a delight to see! But, not much memory remains. I was thinking on disabling Apache modules, but if I try then instead of starting, httpd says "terminated". Which modules can be removed and still have it working? I will try recompiling PHP to be more lean, too.

  2. #32
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by chx_e70 View Post
    I have installed PAMP on a Nokia E70. What a delight to see! But, not much memory remains.
    Yep, as far as PAMP goes, the E70 is a little short on memory...
    I was thinking on disabling Apache modules, but if I try then instead of starting, httpd says "terminated". Which modules can be removed and still have it working?
    It depends. Those modules are needed whose directives are used in httpd.conf. That is, if you remove a module, you have to remove its directives as well.

    So, once you have removed a module, started httpd and it has terminated, check in c:/data/apache/logs/error.log. There should be clearly spelled out, which directive was not understood. Remove those and retry. You can also check upfront from http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod/ which directives are handled by which module.

    You could also try decreasing the amount of memory Apache (including PHP) is allowed to use, via [Options]->[Settings]->[httpd]. Lower the amount of max heap size. The end-result might be that it doesn't work at all... Incidentally, if you happen to run PAMP under MWS then that won't do, but in that case you have to edit the file c:/data/apache/conf/httpds.xml instead.

    You could also change the default value of the directive MaxMemFree (in httpd.conf) to a value different from the default 0 (zero). That should cause Apache to release memory quicker than it otherwise does and not keep memory allocated just in case.

    I will try recompiling PHP to be more lean, too.
    Cool, please share your experiences.

    Johan

  3. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Thanks for the quick answer and sorry for wasting your time, I have not asked the right question. What I wanted to ask was "is there something unusual to the PAMP Apache which can cause 'terminated' or just continue hacking around"? Apparently, the startup error log is in stderr.log. The problem was httpd-s60.conf having a few dav related statements not wrapped in ifmodule. Do you need a patch? The bigger problem is that Linux only sees the memory card via USB not the system drive, so I need to edit in-phone and the screen is not that big and everything is a bit unusal yet.

    Risking sounding arrogant, let me give you a quick background on myself: I am one of the lead developers of the Drupal project and when I edited my first httpd.conf it belonged to NCSA httpd. I was trying to decide between the N810 and the E90 when I found out about the E70 -- a few days ago there was a slashdot thread about 'what you use to ssh on the run'. Checked the Nokia wiki and it seemed that with a bit hammering E70 will be able to do what I need (namely, hacking Drupal on the run, aside from the occassional SSH and IRC for work purposes). So, this is how I arrived here I will post here and on my blog about what I will be able to achieve. If I can't get Drupal up, ah well, I still can edit the files just not check. That'd be a bummer... but I am confident it'll work out

  4. #34
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by chx_e70 View Post
    "is there something unusual to the PAMP Apache which can cause 'terminated' or just continue hacking around"?
    There shouldn't be anything, so just continue hacking around. If you do find something peculiar, please let me know.

    Apparently, the startup error log is in stderr.log.
    Yes, that's correct.

    The problem was httpd-s60.conf having a few dav related statements not wrapped in ifmodule. Do you need a patch?
    Sure, if you have one available I'd be happy to include it.

    The bigger problem is that Linux only sees the memory card via USB not the system drive, so I need to edit in-phone and the screen is not that big and everything is a bit unusal yet.
    Right.

    In the first releases of Raccoon (Symbian/S60 port of Apache) I placed ServerRoot on the same drive to which the binaries were installed. But that caused maintenance headache, so then I just hardwired ServerRoot to C:/Data/Apache that is visible using PC-Suite, which unfortunately is available only for Windows.

    Hmm, I will have to think of something.

    ...I am one of the lead developers of the Drupal project...
    Now that's really cool, because Drupal runs on PAMP, albeit somewhat sluggishly. Basically all you need to do is to create an email account as explained here, so that Drupal can send the admin account information during the installation.

    Just let me know if there are some problems and we'll sort them out. In case you have some copious freetime on your hands, it's of course also fine if you'd tweak Drupal so that it runs better on PAMP

    Johan

  5. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Heyy ,
    can any one of u who has installed PAMP tell me where are the databases stored .In the wamp(on PC) server we actually have folders corresponding to each database but i don't seem to find any such thing in this PAMP installation.

    Thanks

  6. #36
    Nokia Developer Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Quote Originally Posted by prateekbhurat View Post
    can any one of u who has installed PAMP tell me where are the databases stored .In the wamp(on PC) server we actually have folders corresponding to each database but i don't seem to find any such thing in this PAMP installation.
    They are stored under c:\mysql. If memory serves me, both PC-Suite and the default file-browser of a S60 device only show directories under c:\data, which may be the reason why you have not found the directory.

    Br,
    Johan

  7. #37
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1

    Re: PAMP Your Phone

    Hi,

    I am a newbie here and wants to know about the installation procedure of PAMP as, I have heard about this but having some problem in installation so please provide me the details about this.

    Thanks

    bizspeed.com

Similar Threads

  1. The Nokia 9210i is the shittiest nokia phone ever!
    By awyeah in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-10-18, 10:31
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-08-30, 16:06
  3. Asterisk REregister failing
    By kolbi-nokia in forum VoIP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-08-15, 19:13
  4. How to transfer phone book from 8210 to 6300?
    By daliansong in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-05-04, 15:50
  5. Anyone with a nokia 3330? Can anyone help me to copy phone memory to the sim?
    By pabmania in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-29, 22:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •