×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    43

    How to make a sis file

    Hi All,

    I am using Carbide C++, and i have a background application and i want to run this application when ever i started my emulator for this for making a sis file using .pkg file, it is giving error file I/O fault, what is this error? i am unable to understand,

    can any one help in solving the problem and can any one tell me how to make a sis file.

    .pkg file code.

    File: Auto.pkg;
    ;
    ;*Languages
    &EN
    ;
    ;*Standard SIS file header. This section specifies the package name,
    ;application UID, and version/build numbers. Add the package TYPE here if needed.
    #{"Autostart"},(0x0C556DB9),1,0,1;
    ;

    ;*Unique (Non-Localised) Vendor name
    ;This is used in combination with signing to prevent the unauthroized
    ;upgrade ofa a package by someone other than the rightful vendor.
    :""

    ;*Localized Vendor Name
    ;This specifies the localised vendor name(s) correspodning to language(s).
    %{""}
    ;Ecom recognizer plugin for autostart apps
    "EPOC32\release\winscw\udeb\Auto.dll" - "!:\sys\bin\Auto.dll"
    "EPOC32\data\z\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC" - "!:\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC"

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    3,037

    Re: How to make a sis file

    Hi,

    what the error did you get?

    see the path that you have given is correct?
    Code:
    "EPOC32\release\winscw\udeb\Auto.dll" - "!:\sys\bin\Auto.dll"
    "EPOC32\data\z\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC" - "!:\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC"
    it might not be winscw\udeb check it once again

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Hyderabad,India
    Posts
    704

    Re: How to make a sis file

    Quote Originally Posted by saimram View Post
    Hi All,

    I am using Carbide C++, and i have a background application and i want to run this application when ever i started my emulator for this for making a sis file using .pkg file, it is giving error file I/O fault, what is this error? i am unable to understand,

    can any one help in solving the problem and can any one tell me how to make a sis file.

    .pkg file code.

    File: Auto.pkg;
    ;
    ;*Languages
    &EN
    ;
    ;*Standard SIS file header. This section specifies the package name,
    ;application UID, and version/build numbers. Add the package TYPE here if needed.
    #{"Autostart"},(0x0C556DB9),1,0,1;
    ;

    ;*Unique (Non-Localised) Vendor name
    ;This is used in combination with signing to prevent the unauthroized
    ;upgrade ofa a package by someone other than the rightful vendor.
    :""

    ;*Localized Vendor Name
    ;This specifies the localised vendor name(s) correspodning to language(s).
    %{""}
    ;Ecom recognizer plugin for autostart apps
    "EPOC32\release\winscw\udeb\Auto.dll" - "!:\sys\bin\Auto.dll"
    "EPOC32\data\z\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC" - "!:\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC"

    Regards,
    Hi,

    mention the full path in .pkg file for Auto.dll and Auto.rsc

    regards,
    eswar

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    27

    Re: How to make a sis file

    Hi Saimram,

    Okay, well if you like to run your application at emulator then you need to compile it, and after successful compilation just launch emulator and you find your application at installed folder.

    Making sis file for emulator is not needed because files are in correct place after compilation.

    Making sis file for phone is required... in your pkg file you use winscw files, well those works only in windows... not in phone.

    Quote Originally Posted by saimram View Post
    .pkg file code.

    ;Ecom recognizer plugin for autostart apps
    ;full path is required
    "C:\your_dir\EPOC32\release\winscw\udeb\Auto.dll" - "!:\sys\bin\Auto.dll"
    "C:\your_dir\EPOC32\data\z\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC" - "!:\resource\plugins\Auto.RSC"

    Regards,

    Br, L

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,355

    Re: How to make a sis file

    Using recognizer based autostart in S60 is bad practice. Even more for S60 3rd Edition which has a dedicated API for this.

    For emulator you do not need a sis file unless you plan to send the application to somebody else. But even then, a zip file could be easier to handle.

    Make sure to read the knowledge base, there are some interesting topics concerning both recognizer support (or lack thereof) and the installation of sis files in the emulator.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    43

    Thumbs up Re: How to make a sis file

    Hi All,

    Thanks you for your suggestions,

    It is working..

    Regards,

Similar Threads

  1. [moved] Theme Studio Error
    By TalJ in forum Themes/Carbide.ui
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-09-06, 03:39
  2. Theme Studio 3.1 not creating themes
    By zemm in forum Themes/Carbide.ui
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2008-10-18, 08:41
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-03-01, 18:15
  4. Compilation series 60 3rd edition
    By asmobease in forum Symbian Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 2006-09-13, 09:46
  5. How to make a sis file?
    By lemonjerry in forum Symbian C++
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-02-14, 06:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •