×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    26

    Beginners Trouble!

    Hi. Im just trying to have a sample app that has a number of tabs, in one tab i want to allow the user to simple enter in a search term into a text field..

    i can enter the word into the text field but the tabs are not there. This means that if a user wanted to move to a different tab without entering something into the field they cant.

    The text box takes priority.. if that makes sense.

    how can i simple display in my tab.. the text field.

    here is the code i have for the particular tab.
    =======================
    # define application 1: listbox app

    # define the list of items as pop-up menu content
    M1 = [u"Enter Search Terms: "]

    def forming():
    data = [(u'Search:','text', u'Nokia')]

    # set the view/edit mode of the form
    flags = appuifw.FFormEditModeOnly

    # creates the form
    f = appuifw.Form(data, flags)

    # make the form visible on the UI
    f.execute()


    # create the listbox callback handler
    def handler_M1():
    print "ola" # FOR DEBUGGING

    # create the pop-up menu
    app1 = appuifw.Listbox(M1, handler_M1)



    # call the function that creates the form
    forming()

    def exit_key_handler():
    app_lock.signal()
    =====================

    so basically, i want to have the tabs visible.. and the text field displayed, so that the user can enter a term.... if they want to.

    screen should look like
    ----------
    <tab1><tab2>
    ----------
    Enter Search Term: [text field]
    -------------------------------

    instead of

    enter search term: !!

    Thanks Guys, Sorry if this is a silly question havent had much time using this yet

    Neil

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,795

    Re: Beginners Trouble!

    Hello neil,

    Your code to create the Form is fine.
    If you want to use tabs as you have mentioned have a look at an example here
    I think thats where you ported the Form code from

    However I can't understand what you mean by last few lines.
    screen should look like
    ----------
    <tab1><tab2>
    ----------
    Enter Search Term: [text field]
    -------------------------------

    instead of

    enter search term: !!
    Best Regards
    Croozeus

    PS: Use the CODE tags(#) to post code. By doing this it makes sure that your indentations in the code are preserved.
    Pankaj Nathani
    www.croozeus.com

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    26

    Re: Beginners Trouble!

    yep i took that, but now trying to adapt it.. i mean that yes the form is correct. But when the text field comes up it sort of takes over the app. as in a user HAS to enter into the field before they can move between tabs. i just want to have the text field there but the user can switch between tabs whenever they want without having to enter something if they dont want to.

    It seems hard to explain.. if its not clear do not worry im sure ill get it,

    Thanks AGAIN croozeus!!

Similar Threads

  1. Nokia PCSuite setup trouble: the ultimate solution?
    By surfmaxx in forum PC Suite API and PC Connectivity SDK
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-10-04, 09:52
  2. trouble with a CAknPopupList
    By shadow-2005 in forum Symbian
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-02-08, 04:49
  3. trouble with the screen in nokia6600
    By mattalyc in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-08-10, 17:37
  4. Jpeg-Support - any trouble with special models
    By Frankee in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-02-16, 10:56
  5. P800 J2ME game. i'm in trouble because of keypad
    By shahzad73 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-11-21, 03:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×