Discussion Board

S60 Widget specification

Hi All,

i am trying to understand the widget specification for s60.
    It has 2 methods prepareForTransition and performTransition. I am not able to understand what is the objective behind these two functions.

Is it something to do with the rendering mechanism.

Cheers,
    Ashish

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: S60 Widget specification

Though I am not "the expert" on this subject you are right, it is related to rendering and more precisely to avoiding flickering by making sure that all the components are updated at once.

So first you call prepareForTransition, then make the needed changes to your components (show/hide some things, update their formatting or values) and then trigger the screen update by calling performTransition.

The Wiki has some nice examples about widgets, make sure you check them out.

P.S. I've moved this post to the right forum, you will get better advices here.

thanks for your quick reply.

I am also studying the apple's dashboard specification which also has the widget's methods as :

prepareForTransition

Notifies Dashboard that you are about to perform a transition to or from its reverse side.
    widget.prepareForTransition(transition)
    This method prepares your widget for either showing or hiding its reverse side.
    Passing the string “ToFront” for transition disables screen updates within your widget’s user
    interface so that you can prepare it for displaying your widget’s reverse side. Passing the string
    “ToBack” for transition freezes your widget’s user interface so that you can prepare it for displaying
    the main contents again. When your HTML layers are ready, call performTransition to display
    them.

performTransition

Runs an animation to toggle between your widget’s reverse and contents.
    widget.performTransition()
    You call this method after first calling prepareForTransition, which indicates whether you are