×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    14

    Access compass via J2ME

    Dear all,

    Does anyone already know how the built-in compass in the brand new 6210 Navigator can be accessed in a midlet? Can it be used via the JSR 179, the Location API?

    http://www.forum.nokia.com/devices/6210_Navigator

    Thanks in advance!
    Mat

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    7

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    I'd also be very interested in this.

    Does anyone have any info on it? Any info on accessing it through Symbian would also be very useful.

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    20

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    Quote Originally Posted by matbal View Post
    Does anyone already know how the built-in compass in the brand new 6210 Navigator can be accessed in a midlet? Can it be used via the JSR 179, the Location API?
    The 6210 developer page says JSR179 is supported and JSR179 has the Orientation class so I would be pretty confident this is going to work.

    What I'd really like to know is if I can get to the acceleration sensor!!!

    - Mike
    NAVTEQ Network for Developers
    http://www.nn4d.com

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    No idea about java but on S60 the sensor framework (magnetometer included) is separated from the location framework. Of course the PSYs can be extended to access the sensor themselves and thus provide orientation throught the location framework too.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    20

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    Quote Originally Posted by ltomuta View Post
    No idea about java but on S60 the sensor framework (magnetometer included) is separated from the location framework. Of course the PSYs can be extended to access the sensor themselves and thus provide orientation throught the location framework too.
    So it's not possible to access the compass using JSR179? Is there a C++ API? If not, it's pretty pointless having the hardware :-)

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    11,359

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    My comment does not mean in any way that the hardware is not accessible. I'm merely stating that at least on C++ there is a dedicated framework for sensors and the magnetometer can be accessed through it rather than the Location framework. This makes a lot of sense, at least to me.

    I'll try to get more info and update you on this issue.
    -- Lucian

    If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    20

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    Quote Originally Posted by ltomuta View Post
    My comment does not mean in any way that the hardware is not accessible.
    Sorry... didn't mean it as a serious comment, hence the smiley.

    Quote Originally Posted by ltomuta View Post
    I'm merely stating that at least on C++ there is a dedicated framework for sensors and the magnetometer can be accessed through it rather than the Location framework. This makes a lot of sense, at least to me.
    It makes a lot of sense, if you use C++. It is very frustrating if you use JME.

    Quote Originally Posted by ltomuta View Post
    I'll try to get more info and update you on this issue.
    Thanks.

    Mike

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    7

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    I have been testing against a 6210, and using the Orientation via the JSR-179 does not recognise the compass. The GPS works fine.

    If anyone has any ideas as to how to access the compass, please post here.

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    14

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    Hi Westie,

    Any news concerning the compass issue? Did you find a solution?

    Best regards!

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Moscow, ID, USA
    Posts
    2

    Re: Access compass via J2ME

    Has anyone figured out how to access the compass on the Nokia 6210 Navigator yet?

Similar Threads

  1. Setup Default Access Point for j2me 2.0 midlet
    By scheung3 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-11-25, 03:09
  2. J2ME Ring tone access
    By deaglanoceallaigh in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-02-18, 09:31
  3. RS232 access by J2ME applications supported?
    By roriBln in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-03-18, 08:04
  4. Do shared RecordStores in J2ME 2.0 mean access to phone data?
    By stevejarrett in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-09-24, 20:03
  5. Does J2ME permits to access MMS phone functionalities ?
    By zolive in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2002-06-14, 16:58

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×