×

Discussion Board

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    220

    HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Hi All,

    I am from Bangalore-India. I have developed few J2ME applications that involves client/server interaction through HTTP connection.
    I am testing my application on both the leading operators of the country- Airtel and Vodafone. My Midlet works fine with S60rd edition and S40 2nd edition(6030) phone. but as soon as i switch to S40 3rd edition phones like 6233, I am not able to acces the GPRS through my MIDLET. Though the GPRS is working fine with the native phone browser.


    Even the MIDLET is not able to access GPRS on currently released phones such as 5310 Xpress Music and 3110 classic.

    I have done some packet captures as weel at my server end but the observation is that my request is not reaching upto the server.

    I have gone through tons of web references that talk abt APN settings, but no solution has worked for me

    Is there anyone who can help me out so solve this S40 specific problem.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition


  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    220

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    thanks harriti!

    but still nothing is working out for me....my observation is that the streams are not getting opened. the call to Connecter.open(url) happens immediately and my midlet get hanged just after that. no response code, no streams...nothing at all....after some time the connection gets timed-out.



    any other work around idea.

    Thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Can you use any network connecting MIDlet, like Opera Mini?
    If those do not work, the problem is still in your access point settings.

    Hartti

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    220

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    HI,
    I have tried the opera mini as well but that is also not able to browse any site say- yahoo.com.

    The funny part is that native browser can browse all these stuffs.
    As far as my settings are concerned, the same settings are working in s40 2nd edition phone like 6030 but not in 3rd edition like 6233/3110/5310.

    i have used the guidelines given in your blog but still no hopes.

    any more suggestions.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    159

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    actually i am able to browse opera mini on nokia 3110.but MIDlet is not able to communicate to server.





    Step 1: Navigate to the path mention below,

    Main Menu > Settings > Config. Settings > Personal Config. Settings >

    Select the access point Mobile Office to enable Airtel GPRS service, or select Idea
    Fresh to enable Idea GPRS service. If Access point Mobile office (Only for Airtel), or Idea Fresh (Only for Idea) is not present, add a New Access Point and activate it as a default access point.

    To create an access point for, Airtel please use these settings.

    Access point
    Account Name>Mobile Office
    Access point settings
    Data bearer>Packet data or GPRS
    Bearer settings
    Packet data Access Point >airtelgprs.com
    Authentication>Normal
    User name>none
    Prompt password>No

    Also add new Web settings, and use these settings

    Account Name>Mobile Office
    Use preferred access point> yes

    Select default config. Settings and select Personal config.
    Select Mobile office as preferred access point.

    To select Packet data navigate to the mention path below,

    Main Menu > Settings > Connectivity > Packet data

    The Packet data or GPRS settings for Airtel is

    Packet data connection>When needed
    Packet data Settings or GPRS modem settings
    If active access point is not Mobile office, then follow steps mention below
    Edit Active Access Point
    Alias for access point > Mobile office
    Packet data Access Point >airtelgprs.com


    Step 2: Navigate to the path Menu>Web>Settings > Configuration settings, to Update its GPRS Settings, follow the steps describe below.

    Configuration > Personal config.
    Account > Mobile office.

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    If Opera Mini works and your MIDlet not, then I would look into the code. Are you flushing the stream?

    Hartti

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    159

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    c = (HttpConnection) Connector.open(loginUrl);
    c.setRequestMethod(HttpConnection.GET);
    c.setRequestProperty("Username", Utility.urlEncoder(txtUserName.getString()));
    c.setRequestProperty("password",Utility.urlEncoder(txtPassword.getString()));

    int length = Integer.parseInt(c.getHeaderField("Content-Length"));

    if(c.getResponseCode()==200 && length>0){
    do--
    }

    i don't get any reply in nokia 3110 .but other mobiles are working fine.

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    220

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Hold On Guys....

    We are moving to the wrong direction....my question was to let the MIDLET run with normal GPRS services of operator like for AIRTEL its Airtel Live(APN : airtelfun.com)and for VODAFONE its vodafone Live!(APN : portalnmms) on S40 3rd edition onward phones.

    My point was that if the same MIDLET, same SIM and same operator is working with other phones like s40 2nd edition, S60 2nd and 3rd edition, whats wrong with S40 3rd edition phones.


    FYI : The mobile office in not a general GPRS service....its basically used to connect your PC's or laptops to internet, using your phone as a MODEM.

    Regards

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Hello everyone,

    I'm having the very same problem with some Series 40 3rd edition phones and http connections. The HTTP connection times out.

    I can't get the Nokia 6300 working. I've tried Hartti's instructions but with no luck. I set up a new access point, with a packet data access point: Meteor WAP (the settings I received from Meteor network (Ireland)). The MIDlet says 'subscribe to packet data' first. If I change the AP to 'wap.mymeteor.ie', it times out again.

    The strange thing is that the same Sim is working on the N 5300, which has the same apn settings etc. The only difference I can see is that the 6300 has a range of preferred acces points (Meteor WAP, Meteor MMS, Meteor ISP) and the 5300 doesn't.

    Anyway - any help on this would be great - as I've been hitting my head against this wall for a long time,

    Thanks
    Mark

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Smile Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Did you get the solution ???

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Quote Originally Posted by amitmishra19 View Post
    HI,
    I have tried the opera mini as well but that is also not able to browse any site say- yahoo.com.

    The funny part is that native browser can browse all these stuffs.
    As far as my settings are concerned, the same settings are working in s40 2nd edition phone like 6030 but not in 3rd edition like 6233/3110/5310.

    i have used the guidelines given in your blog but still no hopes.

    any more suggestions.
    Hi Amit, did you manage to find out the Issue with Opera not working on Nokia 5310 but the native browser working just fine, if yes, could you please share that with us.

    Thanks
    Mohit.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    29

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Hi !

    Our you 6233 shows the same behaviour (i would say bug).

    A MIDlet which is working on N 6110, N95, N80 etc does not work on the 6233 because a
    java.io.IOException: Error in HTTP operation is thrown.

    I tried out to reach http://www.google.at, the exception was the same.

    I do a HTTP POST, but its the same with an HTTP GET

    I updated to firmware version 5.60, which is currently the latest, before the tests.

    On 6233 there are not much settings to set:

    I set the APN for packet data to (for our provider) "gprsinternet" and thats it. There is no possibility to set the access point seperately per MIDlet. The AccessPoint which is set has to be used by all applications.

    The built in browser works fine with the access point.

    I cannot imagine whats the fault here. Maybe a permission is mission.

    The permissions in my JAD file are:

    javax.microedition.io.Connector.file.read,
    javax.microedition.io.Connector.file.write,
    javax.microedition.io.Connector.http,
    javax.microedition.io.Connector.bluetooth.server,
    javax.microedition.io.Connector.bluetooth.client,
    javax.microedition.io.Connector.socket,
    javax.microedition.io.PushRegistry,
    javax.microedition.media.control.VideoControl.getSnapshot


    The network provider is t-mobile Austria.


    regards

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    29

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Hi !

    Sorry for my last posting !
    finally it turned out to be a config problem as has been stated here several times.

    There is a menu called "configuration" which i did not enter, do not know why. There you can set a standard access point and then it works for JAVA Programs fine, too.

    Maybe i was confused from some "configuration" menus on S60 series which are always empty and therefore never entered this menu.

    regards

    Michael

  15. #15
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,191

    Re: HTTP connection in S40 3rd edition

    Good to know that the issue was fixed. Yes, the network configuration for Series 40 MIDlets can be confusing...

    Hartti

Similar Threads

  1. set proxy settings on access point on nokia s40 3rd edition
    By mike.p in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-09, 01:18
  2. Audio Capture in S40 3rd Edition
    By marquix in forum Mobile Java Media (Graphics & Sounds)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-01-05, 08:28
  3. S40 3rd Edition Hide Lock Files
    By olyans4u in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-01-03, 19:08
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-08-24, 15:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×