Discussion Board

Nokia Developer Champion

Question Distributing and autostarting SIS app

Hi,

I'm not a Symbian expert, and I would like to know if this process is possible, on S60 3rd FP2:

* installing a SIS app on an external memory
    * inserting this memory on another phone, this app should start automatically, and, if phone is rebooted, restart automatically each time
    * each time it starts, the app should launch an exe and then quit immediatly, so that the user will have no notice of this app running
    * the launched exe should remain running in background for an undefined time

Is this possible? Am I missing something?

Any help would be highly appreciated!

Thanks,
    Pit

Nokia Developer Expert

Re: Distributing and autostarting SIS app

Thats possible, but check that.

Especially
    Another problem is that the startup service monitors all launched applications, and displays a warning message to the user if the application is terminated within 5 seconds after launching it. In order to avoid the unwarranted warning, the application must wait at least five seconds before attempting to exit.

Nokia Developer Moderator

Not possible.

Quote Originally Posted by jappit View Post
    Hi,

I'm not a Symbian expert, and I would like to know if this process is possible, on S60 3rd FP2:

* installing a SIS app on an external memory
    No problem here.
    * inserting this memory on another phone, this app should start automatically, and, if phone is rebooted, restart automatically each time
    If all goes well the applications is installed in the new phone and its icon (if one provided) shows-up in the menu. The application does not autostart and cannot ad itself to the autostart list therefore it will not start on the next (re)boot.
    * each time it starts, the app should launch an exe and then quit immediatly, so that the user will have no notice of this app running4
    * the launched exe should remain running in background for an undefined time