×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    41

    select access point query when using browser control

    Hi,

    I am trying to understand the brctl sample application. When i tried to loadUrlL( _LIT(KUrl,"http://www.forum.nokia.com"); do this it asks select access point with "WinSock" item. If i select winsock nothing comes in the view. Can anybody explain this to me.
    Using LoadUrlL() can we access any url like "google.com" etc.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,684

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    You can try it with the built-in browser too.
    Note that if you have to use a HTTP proxy in your network, it should be also configured in the emulator preferences.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    41

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    I configured emulator in preferences.

    I get message "web unable to perform operation (-260000)" when i try even in native browser app.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    41

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    Wizard_hu,
    Now that i am not getting the "web unable to perform operation (-260000)" But the page cannot be displayed message comes on the emulator when i tried to give www.Nokia.com.Could you please let me know what may be the problem..

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    1,572

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    first you need to test the emulator browser to work...

    i.e. open the web application on the emulator and try to open something like "http://www.google.com"

    and if it works, then only it makes further sense to go ahead with your application trying to launch a url...

    hopw this helps !
    Amit Kankani
    Nokia Developer Champion

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    41

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    I have tried with http://www.google.com when i click on GoTo menu it says connecting.. and displays Select Access Point. i select WinSock. After that it displays "web unable to perform operation (-260000)" and sometimes page cannot be displayed error message. I have set the Preferences in Network tab correctly i guess.

    Thanks
    Rajani

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    1,572

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    well then i suggest you try it over a personal computer once, which has no firewall/proxy i suppose... because most of the times, thats what causes problems..

    also u didn't mention which sdk u are using ?
    Amit Kankani
    Nokia Developer Champion

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    41

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    Thanks for your reply. I will try from home once.
    I am using S60 FP1 3rd edition.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    1,572

    Re: select access point query when using browser control

    well then it should definitely work with the sdk mentioned...

    so shud be proxy/firewall settings...
    Amit Kankani
    Nokia Developer Champion

Similar Threads

  1. Select Access point in a MIDlet
    By johnzpan in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-22, 11:25
  2. SATSA Access Control configuration?
    By izak in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-08-17, 13:59
  3. The S60 v3.0 N80 'Select access point:' list only displays "Search for WLAN"
    By Gingah in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-07-14, 05:05
  4. Bluetooth Access Point
    By trussolillo in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-12-16, 11:07
  5. selecting access point by code
    By gauravj116 in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-11-09, 04:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×