×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,405

    fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi,

    I've got an application that uses fscommand2("Quit") to close itself. Anyway, there is an odd behaviour, that happens only on real devices (various Nokia phones - e.g. E65): in some parts of the app the command works well (and the app closes), while in others it simply seems to do nothing.

    I've done several checks and that code line is effectively called, but, apparently, without effect, returning the value 0 (zero).

    Could it be a memory problem? Or do you have any other hints?

    Thanks,
    Pit

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    USA, CA
    Posts
    7,192

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    I have not heard of this before.

    So this fails consistently on some devices and succeeds consistently on others, right?
    Could you check if there is firmware version differencies between those device groups? Or are there some branding differencies (like phones in other group are btanded for some operator and the others are not)?

    Hartti

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,405

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi Hartti,

    thanks for the answer. The situation is this: a single SWF application, on a single phone (Nokia E65, but people reported me of same behaviour on other S60 phones), succesfully closes on some app screens, while doesn't close when on other screens.

    Same code is used to close the SWF within the whole app (a simple fscommand2("Quit") command), but it seems that something prevents the app to close when it is on some particular screens.

    Having done several tests, I'm not yet able to say what the problem could be.

    Pit

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    89

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi Pit,

    Most common pitfall for 'Quit' not to work is not to bind it to a button action. Might that be the case for you? It will not work if you use it as a frame action, this is why we have a 'Quit' command in KuneriLite, because sometimes you need to do several actions before you really quit.

    cheers,

    Ugur.-
    Follow me on Twitter [url]www.twitter.com/ugurkaner[/url]

    Create sexiest Symbian apps faster & easier [url]www.kunerilite.net[/url]
    Turn your Joomla! website into a mobile site instantly [url]www.mobilejoomla.com[/url]

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,405

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi Ugur,

    thanks for the reply. Anyway, my problem is rather strange, since the Quit command is fired in an onPress button handler, and it does work in some parts of an app, while it doesn't in some others. But, the button is always the same, same instance through the whole flash movie.

    Still investigating... :-\

    Pit

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Posts
    277

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi,

    I have been through this. If there's another action performed just before the Quit command. The command does not work.

    I.e. you might be trying to make a call to loadVariables before Quit, on same button event. It might not work.

    hope it helps,

    // chall3ng3r //
    Faisal Iqbal (skype: chall3ng3r)
    Flash Mobile Specialist | Orison Technologies
    _____________________________________
    blog: F·L·A·S·H·I·S·M
    swf2go: www.swf2go.com

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Rome, Italy
    Posts
    2,405

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi chall3ng3r,

    thanks for the hint! I'll check it and let you know if this is my problem

    Pit

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi,

    The same problem's here: the single command 'status = fscommand2("Quit");' returns '0' but does not close the player from the timeline, or via a call function, or any other method, I know. It takes effect through a key handler function only. Verified on Nokia N70 (FL 2.1 dev.), Nokia N95-1 (FL 2.0 & FL 3.0 dev.). It looks like a one more stopship in my project...

    Alex

  9. #9
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Posts
    277

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Yes, I agree. Its a show stopper for many FL apps. i.e. application which tries to play an end-animation, do a save operation, make a request to BG server to shutdown itself etc.

    I don't get any reason why Adobe implemneted it this way. While most other fscommands work without this limitation.

    There doesn't seems to be a security concern when application is requesting to exit itself. Maybe they will fix this in next FL version.

    // chall3ng3r //
    Faisal Iqbal (skype: chall3ng3r)
    Flash Mobile Specialist | Orison Technologies
    _____________________________________
    blog: F·L·A·S·H·I·S·M
    swf2go: www.swf2go.com

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Yes, but this's a cold comfort - the developing applications will not be actual at the time when the fixes spread to the all devices )) Frankly, I cann't make example right now when the bugs were fixed in the next versions (I'm more than 8 years with Flash). Usually that inherit for versions back compatibility, IMHO ))

    Alex

  11. #11
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    56

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi,
    For this we use application /close request in KuneriLite
    http://wiki.kunerilite.net/index.php...ecial_commands

    It will close application immediately, and we need it quite often

    Cheers,
    Jukka

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Thanks Jukka,
    Sure, I use the KL's CLOSE command when I need to quit application completely. But now I have to exit the child Flash player instance only, launched from the primary KL application by getURL(), without of quit KL components and user actions.

    Thanks once again.
    Alex
    Last edited by alex_netsoul; 2008-04-25 at 06:22.

  13. #13
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    56

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    I've another solution in my mind,
    in KL 0.9.6.1 there is kind of co-application suppotr
    which can do this, independently from host application.

    For this closing purposes it would need some changes,
    let me know if you would be interested of such feature.

    Cheers,
    Jukka

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    6

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    Hi Jukka,

    It would be very opportunely if the functionality, you say, will be implemented in the next KL update! =)

    Thanks in advance,
    Alex

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: fscommand2("Quit") not working, sometimes.

    I found a mini solution for making ending animations, which maybe can help someone.
    You can add the following code to the last frame to let the user end the app by pressing any key.
    PHP Code:
    stop();
    //Listener
    var myListener:Object = new Object();
    myListener.onKeyDown = function() {
       
    fscommand2("Quit");
    };
    Key.addListener(myListener); 
    But still it would be a lot better to have the posibility to end the app directly. Please change this Adobe!

Similar Threads

  1. No rule to male target
    By arayappan_it in forum Carbide.c++ IDE and plug-ins (Closed)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-02-28, 10:49
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-03-11, 09:29
  3. sendRedirect not working
    By nicole_yap in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-09-16, 03:35
  4. 7650 / BlueUSB Bluetooth USB dongle / PC-suite not working!
    By mahaikol in forum Bluetooth Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2002-12-28, 06:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •