×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    60

    How to get an access points signal strength?

    Hello!

    I hope someone can help me!

    I need to read the current signal strength of a WLAN access point.
    That means I want to get the value that is shown when I watch the details of an access point in the connection manager (The value from 0% to 100%!)

    I'm totally lost about this, I hope someone can help me!

    Greetings!

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    60

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Ok, seems as if this
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...ad.php?t=71420
    is exactly what I was looking for (it even provides values in -dbm)
    Sorry for the double post.

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Hi ,
    by using CWlanMgmtClient API,
    Try below code and see the MR extension plug in..
    CWlanMgmtClient* iWlanMgmtClientPtr = CWlanMgmtClient::NewL();
    TInt aRSSI;
    iWlanMgmtClientPtr->GetConnectionSignalQuality(aRSSI);

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    60

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Hi parthasaradhi6,

    I installed the plugin and tried your code, but sadly when it runs over the first line the program panics and I get code 44.

    What do i have to do to make this work?

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,751

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    There are many "44"-s.
    If it is -44, check http://wiki.forum.nokia.com/index.php/Error_codes, and run your application on a phone instead of the emulator.
    If it is SOMEThing 44, feel free to provide SOMEThing too.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    60

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Ok, my code now is:
    Code:
    	CWlanScanInfo *scanInfo = CWlanScanInfo::NewL();
    	
    	CWlanMgmtClient *client = CWlanMgmtClient::NewL();
    	// Information Element ID for SSID as specified in 802.11.
    	const TUint8 KWlan802Dot11SsidIE = 0;
    
    	// Iterate through scan results.
    	for( scanInfo->First(); !scanInfo->IsDone(); scanInfo->Next() )
    	{
    		// Parse through BSS parameters.
    
    		TUint8 ieLen( 0 );
    		const TUint8* ieData = NULL;
    
    		TInt ret = scanInfo->InformationElement( KWlan802Dot11SsidIE, ieLen, &ieData );
    		if ( ret == KErrNone )
    		{
    		// ieData now points to the network name
    		}
    	}
    The first line works well, the second produces a
    E32USER-CBase 44

  7. #7
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    60

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Btw, an active scheduler is already installed, i think.

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    28,751

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Quote Originally Posted by mg_at_uni View Post
    Btw, an active scheduler is already installed, i think.
    Where is this code located? Console executable? Somewhere in a GUI app?

  9. #9
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    60

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Console, but i thought i already had an active scheduler. Now i've installed one right before the call and it works.

    Now the last question:
    What exactly retrieves
    Code:
    TInt32 aRSSI;
    iWlanMgmtClientPtr->GetConnectionSignalQuality(aRSSI);
    ??

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    60

    Re: How to get an access points signal strength?

    Console, but i thought i already had an active scheduler. Now i've installed one right before the call and it works.

    Now the last question:
    What exactly retrieves
    Code:
    TInt32 aRSSI;
    iWlanMgmtClientPtr->GetConnectionSignalQuality(aRSSI);
    ??
    (I know it's a signal value in -db but is it SNR or MER or ...
    and for which connection is it measured?)

Similar Threads

  1. Signal strength using RConnectionMonitor
    By masrivastava in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-03-24, 17:49
  2. Nokia 6101 Locked 2 TMobile Midlet can't access internet...
    By Jason Glass in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 2007-11-14, 02:19
  3. Can I get Wifi signal strength in Nokia N93?
    By hgyang in forum Wired and Wireless interfaces (Closed)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-11-23, 10:23
  4. access to signal strength
    By epom in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-01-28, 14:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×