Discussion Board

Arguments for Python executable?

I'm new to Symbian programming, and actually new to Python, too. My company uses Intellisync Mobile Suite and a variety of wireless devices including some E61i's. I'm trying to find a way to do some housekeeping on the E61i's by means of a Python script. I've spent several hours reading about device security, Ensymble, code signing, etc., and becoming annoyed. All of this doesn't seem to "simplify application development" one bit. But onward...

Would someone familiar with the S60 3rd Edition Python source code tell me if the Python interpreter (I assume either C:\sys\bin\python_launcher.exe or C:\sys\bin\Python.exe ?) will accept a Python script as a command line argument? Intellisync lets me run any executable in C:\sys, assuming I know the filename, and it would be really helpful if there was a switch I could use to then add the path to the .py file. (I'm guessing it's unfortunately not that simple.)

All I need to do is a) read and parse a few text files, b) potentially rename a few files in C:\Data, c) potentially write a new text file and delete a text file...and do it without displaying a GUI or requiring user intervention. As far as I know, none of these files are protected by the OS.

Assuming there is no simple switch to supply a Python file, what is the easiest means to an end, given that I want to run one script on many devices? Could there be an older version of Python that does accept a script on the command line? Would a self-signed script be able to perform the tasks above on multiple devices? I'd appreciate any help. Thanks!

Regular Contributor

Re: Arguments for Python executable?

Hi,

Do you want to run a script from the shell or from a script?

The latter is possible.
    Use the code below
    Code:
    import appuifw, e32

def quit(): 
      app_lock.signal()

appuifw.app.exit_key_handler=quit

file='C:\\Python\\second.py'
    execfile(file)

app_lock=e32.Ao_lock()
    app_lock.wait()