Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Symbian signing got me confused

Hi, I am fairly new to the Symbian development (mostly done Java ME before). I have done some small test applications with Carbide.c++ and they have been working just fine in my phones.

Now I have started working on my first symbian application that needs a capability: SwEvent. I am able to run it on the emulator just fine. Today I added a new feature: Reading sensor data. Now it won't work anymore on the emulator (sensor libs not available for it) and when I try to deploy it to my phones, it will complain about the certificate.

So, I have been reading a lot about Symbian signing, but the situation seems amazingly confusing. It is as if most of the texts relating to it are already old information. But I don't know how to judge what is old and what is new. Only thing that worked for me right now was the free online signing, but using that for debugging hundreds of times would be utterly crazy.

My question is this: How do I get my application to work for on-device debugging and installation purposes? What kind of signing do I have to do? How to do it automatically in Carbide.c++? What certificates are needed? How to get them? I am only concerned of testing this with one phone (IMEI).

Well, thanks for your patience and sorry for me being a newbie
    Last edited by pillar; 2008-04-04 at 01:32. Reason: edit

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: Symbian signing got me confused

Have you seen the documents on www.symbiansigned.com ? "The Complete Guide To Symbian Signed" is accessible even without registration. The table on page 9 contains the solution: SwEvent capability cannot be granted via self-signing.

Regular Contributor