×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belo Horizonte, Brazil
    Posts
    744

    Implementing settings screen

    How can I make settings screens in python?

    Just like this: http://www.bilder-hochladen.net/files/4xyg-3t.jpg

    Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    133

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Rafael T. View Post
    How can I make settings screens in python?

    Just like this: http://www.bilder-hochladen.net/files/4xyg-3t.jpg

    Thanks!!!
    Have you tried to set and use some flags?

    You can have them stored in a text file for reference and using them you can take a note of these customised settings.
    Kandyfloss

    V 7.0642.0
    18-10-06
    RH-51
    Nokia 7610

  3. #3
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belo Horizonte, Brazil
    Posts
    744

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by kandyfloss View Post
    Have you tried to set and use some flags?

    You can have them stored in a text file for reference and using them you can take a note of these customised settings.
    But the screen will be just like that?

    Can you give me a example of how can I use this?

    Thanks for the reply!!!

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium (Europe)
    Posts
    1,352

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Hello Rafael

    I'm sorry but this is a symbian class not implemented in PyS60
    You need to program yourself an extension in C++ ...

    Volume setting and cache widget will be great use for everybody ...

    BR
    Cyke64
    pys60 1.4.5 and 2.0.0, pygame, PyS60 CE on E90 and 5800 !

    Find my pys60 extension modules on cyke64.googlepages.com

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    133

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Rafael T. View Post
    But the screen will be just like that?

    Can you give me a example of how can I use this?

    Thanks for the reply!!!
    The screen will not be like as you have shown in the attachment as its not possible in pys60 with current UI extensions. If you want to implement such UI, you will have to work out on your own extensions as Cyke64 mentioned.

    Otherwise if you just want the seetings, you could have an options menu created with sub menus for the different settings.
    Options->Max Seach Results->5
    Hopefuly helps
    Last edited by kandyfloss; 2008-04-05 at 20:45. Reason: added
    Kandyfloss

    V 7.0642.0
    18-10-06
    RH-51
    Nokia 7610

  6. #6
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belo Horizonte, Brazil
    Posts
    744

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Thanks for the replies!

    so, I'm trying to use the form.

    Some questions about it:

    1- My application body is a text (tx), how can I make the form only appear when I select settings on the menu? and when the right soft key is pressed on the form screen, it would return to the main screen. It's that possible?

    2- How to define a function of a option in the form? Ex:

    Code:
    def forming():
    
    
     ls = [u'Eight', u'Nine', u'Ten']
    
     data = [(u'Aaa','combo', (ls,0))]

    How to define a function for Eight, Nine and Ten?

    3- In axyz module, when I use axyz.connect(read), it's possible to use more than one argument? Ex:

    Code:
    axyz.connect(read,read2,read3)

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belo Horizonte, Brazil
    Posts
    744

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Forget the axyz thing.

    What I really want to know is how can I update a value when certain option is selected in the form

    e.g.:

    Code:
    def forming():
    
    
     ls = [u'Eight', u'Nine', u'Ten']
    
     data = [(u'Aaa','combo', (ls,0))]
    
     flags = appuifw.FFormDoubleSpaced
    
     f = appuifw.Form(data, flags)
    
     f.execute()
    
    #How can I update a value if Eight, Nine or Ten is selected?
    
    #e.g.: i = (20,40) 
    
    #When Nine is selected the value would be updated: i = (60,80)
    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    133

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Rafael T. View Post
    Forget the axyz thing.

    What I really want to know is how can I update a value when certain option is selected in the form

    e.g.:

    Code:
    def forming():
    
    
     ls = [u'Eight', u'Nine', u'Ten']
    
     data = [(u'Aaa','combo', (ls,0))]
    
     flags = appuifw.FFormDoubleSpaced
    
     f = appuifw.Form(data, flags)
    
     f.execute()
    
    #How can I update a value if Eight, Nine or Ten is selected?
    
    #e.g.: i = (20,40) 
    
    #When Nine is selected the value would be updated: i = (60,80)
    Thanks!
    Didn't setting and resetting flags work for you?

    say i = (20,40) in beginning

    have a flag,
    flag=0
    When 9 is selected set the flag as 1
    flag=1
    Then when you implement or use value of i check the flag
    Code:
    if (flag==1):
        i = (60,80)
    else: #else is optional here, as i is initialized at the start
        i = (20,40)
    Thus we can say Nine was selected.

    Hopefully helps,
    Kandyfloss

    V 7.0642.0
    18-10-06
    RH-51
    Nokia 7610

  9. #9
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belo Horizonte, Brazil
    Posts
    744

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by kandyfloss View Post
    Didn't setting and resetting flags work for you?

    say i = (20,40) in beginning

    have a flag,


    When 9 is selected set the flag as 1


    Then when you implement or use value of i check the flag
    Code:
    if (flag==1):
        i = (60,80)
    else: #else is optional here, as i is initialized at the start
        i = (20,40)
    Thus we can say Nine was selected.

    Hopefully helps,
    So, it should be like this?

    Code:
    i = (80,90)
    
    def forming():
    
    
     ls = [u'Eight', u'Nine', u'Ten']
    
     data = [(u'Aaa','combo', (ls,0))]
    
     flags = appuifw.FFormDoubleSpaced
    
     f = appuifw.Form(data, flags)
    
     f.execute()
    
         if (ls==1):
           
           i = (100,110)
    I tried this, but it doesn't work. What to do???

    Thanks!!!

  10. #10
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    133

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Rafael T. View Post
    So, it should be like this?

    Code:
    i = (80,90)
    
    def forming():
    
    
     ls = [u'Eight', u'Nine', u'Ten']
    
     data = [(u'Aaa','combo', (ls,0))]
    
     flags = appuifw.FFormDoubleSpaced
    
     f = appuifw.Form(data, flags)
    
     f.execute()
    
         if (ls==1):
           
           i = (100,110)
    I tried this, but it doesn't work. What to do???

    Thanks!!!
    Well I think you can implement it better with a list box like this

    Code:
    L = [u'Eight', u'Nine', u'Ten'u'Exit']
    
    index = appuifw.selection_list(choices=L , search_field=1)
    
    if index == 0:
        i = (60,80)
    if index == 1:
        i = (20,40)
    if index == 2:
        i = (100,120)
    if index == 3:
       i = (50,90)
    The use of flag gets eliminated here due to using index as a flag.

    Hopefully helps.
    Kandyfloss

    V 7.0642.0
    18-10-06
    RH-51
    Nokia 7610

  11. #11
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Posts
    976

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Rafael T. View Post
    I tried this, but it doesn't work. What to do???
    Please tell how it doesn't work... What did you expect and what did you get.

    Is the problem getting the user selection? Did you implement "save_hook" or try using "the subscript notation f[i]" to check the values?

    Wondering,

    --jouni

  12. #12
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Belo Horizonte, Brazil
    Posts
    744

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by JOM View Post
    Please tell how it doesn't work... What did you expect and what did you get.

    Is the problem getting the user selection? Did you implement "save_hook" or try using "the subscript notation f[i]" to check the values?

    Wondering,

    --jouni

    No, I didn't try this options... I'm new to Python ... can you give me a example of how I should use this?

    Unfortunately, in my case I really have to use the form, the listbox wouldn't be good.

    But anyway, thanks for all the replies.

    Hope JOM can give me an example of the use of save_hook and the subscription notation!!!


    BR

    Rafael.

  13. #13
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Espoo, Finland
    Posts
    976

    Re: Implementing settings screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Rafael T. View Post
    Hope JOM can give me an example of the use of save_hook
    Sorry, never used myself But since I was interested in the question and the other replies were pointing close enough to right direction, I did some basic RTFM. Nothing special...

    Here's code sample from book: "Mobile Python" by Jürgen Scheible and Ville Tuulos. Recommended, contains an amazing amount of info for such a thin book (300+ pages)! I have bought too many 600+ page book with only tenth of content.

    http://www.mobilenin.com/mobilepytho...0-eventfu.html

    Enjoy,

    --jouni

Similar Threads

  1. SIP VoIP Settings Tool
    By petrosoi in forum VoIP
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2009-01-18, 05:23
  2. New SIP settings without using settings -> sip settings
    By miikkis in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2008-11-20, 13:46
  3. how to change Screen from Form to FullCanvas
    By ihadreampp in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2003-08-15, 08:50
  4. How to send complete email settings?
    By kick121 in forum Smart Messaging
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-02-26, 05:48
  5. Problem sending GPRS settings
    By maronk in forum Smart Messaging
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-09-24, 06:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •