Discussion Board

Data connection & Python

I move new version of my programs from my PC by putting the N95 into data connection (not PC suite mode). I then drag the files to the mobile phone E:\python directory.

The problem I have having is that when one is in data mode, python is disabled (a message pops up that "memory acess is disabled during data acess mode).

This means that to test out the python program I have to disconnect and then later reconnect to get new updates.

There has to be a better workflow, but I am a newbie and I have not seen anything in the FAQ.

(I am using the USB data cable).

Super Contributor

Re: Data connection & Python

A very fast way to test applications is the emulator. That is of course if your apps don't require special features like network access etc.
    Last edited by bogdan.galiceanu; 2008-04-06 at 18:51.

Regular Contributor

Quote Originally Posted by DrYSG View Post
    I move new version of my programs from my PC by putting the N95 into data connection (not PC suite mode).
    Is there a reason for not using PC Suite mode? (like, I don't know, usnupported operating system?) Or doesn't the PC Suite mode work with memory cards?

Nokia Developer Champion

hi DrYSG
    the problem is bit hasty. one option infront of you is that as suggested by bogdan use emulator for testing ur applications.
    one another solution is that put that file in memory card drive i hope when u will open the file the python installer will open and it will ask u to install the .py file as script file or library file.
    plz i m not sure abt this solution plz check it and give me a feedback.
    thanx

The emulator is not a great solution since we are mainly interested in sensors and devices (camera, bluetooth based sensors, bluetooth and network gyros, motors, etc.)