×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    Hi there !

    I sucessfully ported the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60, but since it was a console application, there's an evident lack of UI... For instance, I use epoc32.start as command line, but i'm searching a Python enthusiast to wrote a little UI


    You could find the story, binaries, and sources on my blog :
    http://www.myboyfriendisageek.com/20...tp-tunnel-s60/

    Anyone ?
    In a world without Walls nor Windows, who need Gates ?

  2. #2
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    57

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    Quote Originally Posted by nono240 View Post
    I sucessfully ported the GNU HTTP TUNNEL
    So this is what You use to overcome Your provider's limit to connections on port 80 ? But then, You also need to have a server running on a computer on the internet (also with an "unlimited data plan") ? Or is there a public proxy server to use ?

    Oh and besides, how to utilize this on the client side ? I mean, how do the internet-capable appliations use the tunnel ? Is it transparent (and how) ?

  3. #3
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    376

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    Quote Originally Posted by nokia_e70 View Post
    Oh and besides, how to utilize this on the client side ? I mean, how do the internet-capable appliations use the tunnel ? Is it transparent (and how) ?
    Public proxy server is needed. Nokia provides public proxy server in Mobile Web server project, but that server uses proprietary tunneling protocol and is tied to Nokia's service.

    This kind of channel would be useful for applications who wish to notify phone from Internet. If the tunnel code is generic enough (has autorestart, timeout, battery saving, etc. features) the user-land applications can easily utilize it and push stuff to the phone.
    Mikko Ohtamaa

    http://mfabrik.com
    http://blog.mfabrik.com

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    Quote Originally Posted by nokia_e70 View Post
    You also need to have a server running on a computer on the internet (also with an "unlimited data plan") ?
    You're true. You need to run the server on your workstation (connected to the internet of course).

    On client side, you specify the local port to listen on (let's say 5900 for VNC service), destination host and port. You can then connect to 127.0.0.1:5900 on your phone, and all traffic will be redirected through the tunnel to your workstation, and then to the destination/port you specified.

    All is detailed on my page.
    In a world without Walls nor Windows, who need Gates ?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    I applaud you on this application and the willingness to let someone else work on the GUI. Unfortunately, I am not that someone.

    I hope your website comes back online soon, as what I have seen so far (through Google's cache) seems promising!

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    Quote Originally Posted by DWizzy View Post
    I hope your website comes back online soon, as what I have seen so far (through Google's cache) seems promising!
    Thanks for reporting the "deface". I'll restore asap
    In a world without Walls nor Windows, who need Gates ?

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    Hello,
    I have problem on my nokia n95 8go with your software.
    when i run the python GUI program, i have got a system error.
    Then, i search and attempt to use command line to launch the httptunnel.
    I haven’t found any command line for Symbian S60 3rnd edition.
    Our problem can be linked to this ?
    Have you any help to let me continue to make your program working on our N95 8go ?

    I am a French developer, i can help you and make tests if you need it.

    Or anyone can help me ?
    I don't understand how nono can have a command line on his phone, is it possible on S60 3nd edition ?

    I want to use it because i think i will have error messages and can help for debug.

    Stéphane,

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    80

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    I don't have any console ! First, I used the e32.start_exe() function from Python to pass arguments.
    Now, a python GUI is available, but according to some people (including you), there's a problem with N95 ? I've to investigate...
    I sent to you the script 'as is' (without installer). Let me know.
    In a world without Walls nor Windows, who need Gates ?

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: Port of the GNU HTTP TUNNEL to S60 : lack of UI

    In the GUI the problem is near the "import ... threading".
    When i delete it, the script progress, but an error occur when you use this object. (normal)

    To your blog, you must correct :
    import epoc32
    # Start tunnel, listening on local port 25,
    # remotely forward to gmail POP service through the tunnel
    epoc32.start(‘htc60.exe’,‘-C -D2 -F 25,pop.gmail.com:25′
    ‘myserver.dyndns.org:80′)
    [doesn't work for me]
    but this work (seems to work...)
    import e32
    # Start tunnel, listening on local port 25,
    # remotely forward to gmail POP service through the tunnel
    e32.start(‘htc60.exe’,'-C -D2 -F 25,pop.gmail.com:25
    myserver.dyndns.org:80′)
    [no python error]

Similar Threads

  1. Using http connection with port other than 80
    By jaazz in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-08-30, 18:55
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-09-30, 07:08
  3. Http connect problem for S60 sdk
    By ewise in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-09-08, 04:34
  4. Serious flaws on series s60 / 3650(RMS and SDK on HTTP connection)
    By dssnokia1 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-09-17, 10:36
  5. HTTP Connection in S60 Simulator, Problem?
    By photonman in forum Mobile Java Tools & SDKs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-08-29, 22:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×