×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    HI everybody!
    i have made a little python script that shows a window (topwindow) when the phone receive a call from specific phone number.
    Well, my script works fine if i run it from python on my N95 8gb phone.
    If I install the sis version of my program (i used ensymble to convert it) it does not work !!. It cant recognize the calling number. I cant understand why !!?!

    This is the code:

    Code:
    import appuifw
    import e32
    import telephone
    import graphics
    import TopWindow
    
    window = TopWindow.TopWindow()
    
    def handleCall((callState, number)):
        global window
           
        if callState == telephone.EStatusRinging:
    
            if number=="+390105552233":
            
                         image = graphics.Image.new((214,94)) 
                         image.text((5,20), u"CIAOOO !!", fill = 0x0000ff, font =u'LatinBold19')
                         
                         window.add_image(image, (3,3))
                         window.size = (220, 100)  
                         window.corner_type = 'corner2'
                         window.position = (10,10)
                         window.background_color = 0x0000ff
    
                         window.show()
    
        elif callState == telephone.EStatusDisconnecting:    
          
                         window.hide()
    
    def quit():
        app_lock.signal()
    
    
    appuifw.app.exit_key_handler = quit
    app_lock=e32.Ao_lock()
    
    appuifw.app.title = u"Pyhton Test"
    
    telephone.call_state(handleCall)
    app_lock.wait()
    The crucial line is:
    if number=="+390105552233":

    This number is my home phone number. If i call my mobile number from home number it cant recognize and doesn't display the window. But it works if i run the script with python and make the same call.

    If i remove the line .. it works !
    If use: (if number<>"55555555" ... it works !!

    Thank you in advance !

    Matteo

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
    Posts
    3,852

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    hi matteog
    plz tell the forum about the procedure of conversion from py2sis.
    i guess the actual error lies there.
    plz give feedback

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Quote Originally Posted by gaba88 View Post
    hi matteog
    plz tell the forum about the procedure of conversion from py2sis.
    i guess the actual error lies there.
    plz give feedback
    I used ensymble 0.26 from windows xp:

    ensymble.py py2sis --uid=0xffff4321 --appname="myapp" --shortcaption="myapp" --caption="myapp" --version=1.0.0 --verbose myapp.py

    I also tryed with:
    ensymble.py py2sis myapp.py

    is the problem here ???

    Thanks !

  4. #4
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Helsinki
    Posts
    376

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Quote Originally Posted by MatteoG View Post
    I used ensymble 0.26 from windows xp:

    ensymble.py py2sis --uid=0xffff4321 --appname="myapp" --shortcaption="myapp" --caption="myapp" --version=1.0.0 --verbose myapp.py

    I also tryed with:
    ensymble.py py2sis myapp.py

    is the problem here ???

    Thanks !
    Yes. You are probably missing capabilities needed to perform the application functions. Python Shell comes with some default capabilities turned on.
    Mikko Ohtamaa

    http://mfabrik.com
    http://blog.mfabrik.com

  5. #5
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,777

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Quote Originally Posted by MatteoG View Post
    I used ensymble 0.26 from windows xp:

    ensymble.py py2sis --uid=0xffff4321 --appname="myapp" --shortcaption="myapp" --caption="myapp" --version=1.0.0 --verbose myapp.py

    I also tryed with:
    ensymble.py py2sis myapp.py

    is the problem here ???

    Thanks !
    Hi MatteoG,

    Try signing the creates SIS file with your dev cert and check if it works with The crucial line if number=="+390105552233": included.

    Best Regards
    Croozeus
    Pankaj Nathani
    www.croozeus.com

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Quote Originally Posted by croozeus View Post
    Hi MatteoG,

    Try signing the creates SIS file with your dev cert and check if it works with The crucial line if number=="+390105552233": included.

    Best Regards
    Croozeus
    Hi and thanks for your reply.
    I have tried the signed SIS file ... but ... it still does not work !!!

    this is what i did:
    1) I created the sis file with ensymble (typing: ensymble.py py2sis myapp.py).
    2) I signed the sis file at www.symbiansigned.com (using open signed online with IMEI number of my phone )(and with all capabilities selected)
    3) I have installed the signed sis file (that i downloaded from symbiansigned) in the phone (by using Nokia PC suite)
    4) I run it ... but it still does not display the window when the phone is ringing !

    is this procedure correct ???
    Can anybody try this script ?? maybe on different phones it works...

    please help !

    and thank you again !

    Matteo

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Is it possible that the sis file doesn'work because i didn't merge the Python interpreter in the sis file ??

  8. #8
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Quote Originally Posted by MatteoG View Post
    Is it possible that the sis file doesn'work because i didn't merge the Python interpreter in the sis file ??
    If you installed the sis file on a device that had the Python interpreter installed already, then this problem is out of the question.
    Make sure that your installed app is on the same memory unit as Python (either phone memory or memory card).

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    If you installed the sis file on a device that had the Python interpreter installed already, then this problem is out of the question.
    Make sure that your installed app is on the same memory unit as Python (either phone memory or memory card).
    Yes my device has pyhton interpreter already installed. And Pyhton and SIS file are both on the memory card (E:\).

    Please can you try the script ?
    I really need to solve this problem in order to develop my (little) app.
    Thank you very much !!

  10. #10
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/e...enshot0032.jpg

    As you can see, it works for me. All I did was change the number from +390105552233 to mine. Are you sure that + isn't the source of the problem? Because I tried with a +4 (country code) in front of my number and it didn't work.
    Last edited by bogdan.galiceanu; 2008-04-13 at 10:20.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Quote Originally Posted by bogdan.galiceanu View Post
    http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/e...enshot0032.jpg

    As you can see, it works for me. All I did was change the number from +390105552233 to mine. Are you sure that + isn't the source of the problem? Because I tried with a +4 (country code) in front of my number and it didn't work.
    Hi Bogdan and thank you very much for testing the script !!

    have you tried the .py file (with python interpreter) or the .sis file ??
    I have problem ONLY with the .sis file

    +39 is the country code of Italy. It should not be the problem (infact it works fine on python interpreter).
    Anyway i tried many possibilities for the number string:
    - without the country code (number == "010....")
    - with double zero instead of plus (number == "0039010...")
    - with jolly carachters (number == "*010..." or number = "??010."; i dont know if jolly caract exist in python ...)

    If you have tested the sis file .. i begin to think that the problem could be in my phone provider (??).
    Anyway .. i still cant understand why the python script works perfectly and the sis file does not !!!!!

    Thank you again

    Matteo
    (.. surrending ..)

  12. #12
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Deva, Romania
    Posts
    3,471

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    I tried the .py script and it worked. Now, when I tried the sis file, I see you're right. It doesn't do anything. But I only tried it now because I waited for a download link to it from symbiansigned, and still haven't received it. So the sis I tried wasn't signed with capabilities. That symbiansigned is really messed up.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Ok .. I will wait for you . I'm very curious to know if your signed sis file will work or not.

    I obtained my signed sis file from symbiansigned immediately. I used open signed online.

    In your opinion is it possible that a signed application obtained with open signed online has not enough capabilities to let phone recognize the number of an incoming call ?? I mean .. if it was signed with a publisher id it would have more possibilities to work fine ???

    Thanks
    Last edited by MatteoG; 2008-04-14 at 12:20.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    20

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    Hi MatteoG.

    Please have a look at this thread

    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=131432

    You might have the same problem i did.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    10

    Re: Why the .sis version of my .py script doesn't work ?? Need help !

    .... and finally .... I DID IT !!!!!

    Thank you Danieb !

    It was really a problem of capabilities.
    Capabilities have not only to be selected while signing the file at symbiansigned ... but also before .. while creating the sis file with ensymble (ensymple.py py2sis ... --caps= ... myapp.py)

    NB: the sis file with capabilities will not be installed on phone if it is not signed ! so you have both to create it with capabilities with ensymble and sign it at symbiansigned ...

    (it so easy write applications with pys60 .. but it is very hard to install them ....!)

    Thank you again !!

Similar Threads

  1. Update midlet version on 3650
    By zivgr in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2005-07-27, 08:15
  2. setting of Series 60 MIDP SDK for Symbian OS version 1.2 for networking
    By servigo in forum Mobile Java Networking & Messaging & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2003-07-31, 07:47
  3. latest firmware version for Nokia 7650?
    By ovjo12 in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-05-05, 11:55
  4. nokia 7210 modem via IR doesn't work !
    By oussamaaiadi in forum PC Suite API and PC Connectivity SDK
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-03-06, 10:46
  5. Questions about version code in MMS protocol
    By wangzhong in forum General Messaging
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2002-11-21, 10:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •