Discussion Board

Regular Contributor

Emulator vs Device

Hi I have a working prototype of a program on the emulator but when I start the application on the device it doesnt even launch. I tried doing on device debugging and it looks like its exiting in the very beginning of the execution (just on creating the AppView class).

I should've tested on the device regularly but I was too busy working on a prototype. Any suggestions maybe I'm missing some obvious points cause I'm a beginner in Symbian programming.

I thought it was a stack size problem cause I was allocating 8kb for a stack sized member for simple testing, but I've changed this and using RBuf instead.

About user capabilities, shouldn't this give a warning if the problem is coming from there?

thanks

Re: Emulator vs Device

Your application is crashing at the time of launch. Please try to put log. There could be various reason like Panic , out of memory , wrong use of active object or file operation.
    Accredited Symbian Developer

Nokia Developer Moderator

Try to use the "Extended panic code" trick from wiki. Make also sure that all needed files are added to the PKG and thus installed on the phone. If you have changed the UID recently make sure the change was propagated in the entire project.
    -- Lucian

If you are not yet a DVLUP member it is time to correct that mistake :) Click here to join: http://www.dvlup.com/lucian/Invite

Regular Contributor

Hi i wasnt getting the correct error using on device debugging because i was installing a release build on the mobile (stupid me!) so i couldnt debug correctly. So i went to add the ErrRd file using FExplorer but this cannot be done with S60 3rd FP1. So i installed Dr.Jukka tools and again no error just KILL: 0 normally.

after a while i repeated using a debug build and on device debugging and yep you were right it was a missing file :)