Discussion Board

PED and signing.

Hi all,

I've searched and searched but perhaps I don't know what to search for, so please forgive me if the answer to this is in an FAQ somewhere. I've really tried to get a grip on this but the more I look, the more confusing it gets.

I'm totally new to Python, Symbian and the whole shebang. I stumbled across PyS60, found PED (which is an excellent utility, thanks y.a.k), and now I'm having lots of fun messing around with my N95 but I'm being frustrated by a permissions problem. Some example scripts I've found on the net run fine if I call them from the Python shell but get an access denied error when I try to run them from PED.

Can anyone explain, in simple terms please, how I can grant PED sufficient access rights to allow me to run any scripts I care to try. I've seen references to Ensymble, but I get the impression that I need a dev certificate for that to work. Is Open Signed Online what I need? I just want to tinker with my own phone, not interested in creating distributable applications.

Sorry if it's a dumb question. I've tried, failed, and now I want help.

Regular Contributor

Re: PED and signing.

PED is written in python so can not do everything the script shell does as the shell is signed. This allows access to protected areas which PED can't.

As for the whole Open signed and all that, I suggest a search here or via google as there are many guides that will explain it better than me

Super Contributor

Quote Originally Posted by IX View Post
    Can anyone explain, in simple terms please, how I can grant PED sufficient access rights to allow me to run any scripts I care to try. I've seen references to Ensymble, but I get the impression that I need a dev certificate for that to work. Is Open Signed Online what I need?