×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    384

    menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Hi all,

    i have a strange problem.i am trying to change the application language dynamically and get some success in it.


    now the problem appears is that as soon as i change the language dynamically the applications menu option get invisible.they appears only when i click al1 or r1 button.

    there is instructions what i have done in code.

    add the application.cpp

    TFileName CMobileDMRApplication::ResourceFileName() const
    {
    return TFileName();
    }

    add following line in appui

    BaseConstructL(EAknEnableSkin | ENonStandardResourceFile);

    and called the function to change the resource just after baseconstructL();

    now the language resource files loaded accordingly.

    and application language changes according to resource.

    but after that menu option stops showing the data.

    can anybody tell what wents wrong?

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,568

    Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Since you specified ENonStandardResourceFile, the environment does not parse it. Thus automatic initialization from EIK_APP_INFO does not happen.
    If you are sure about that you actually need ENonStandardResourceFile, you have to initialize the framework manually.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    384

    Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Quote Originally Posted by wizard_hu_ View Post
    Since you specified ENonStandardResourceFile, the environment does not parse it. Thus automatic initialization from EIK_APP_INFO does not happen.
    If you are sure about that you actually need ENonStandardResourceFile, you have to initialize the framework manually.
    Hi sir,

    can you tell me how can i initialize the framework manually.

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,568

    Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    I do not know. But why do not you provide a standard resource file anyway?
    Note that extra resource files can be added/removed manually via CCoeEnv::Add/DeleteResourceFile/L methods.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    384

    Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Quote Originally Posted by wizard_hu_ View Post
    I do not know. But why do not you provide a standard resource file anyway?
    Note that extra resource files can be added/removed manually via CCoeEnv::Add/DeleteResourceFile/L methods.
    sir i am writing an application to pickup the language set in the settings of my appliction.if i provide the standard resource file at baseconstuctl than it will always pick up the default language at startup and not that hich i have setup in settings

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    28,568

    Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    I am not sure about it, the minimal resource file consists of a NAME and the 3 mandatory resources: RSS_SIGNATURE, TBUF and EIK_APP_INFO. They are rather language-independent I guess.
    You can also experiment with making ResourceFileName a bit more sophisticated. For example if you return MyApplicationEnglish.rsc, or MyApplicationJapanese.rsc, the framework will have absolutely no way to load a "wrong" resource file, since these names do not follow the .r<language code> convention.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    384

    Red face Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Quote Originally Posted by wizard_hu_ View Post
    I am not sure about it, the minimal resource file consists of a NAME and the 3 mandatory resources: RSS_SIGNATURE, TBUF and EIK_APP_INFO. They are rather language-independent I guess.
    You can also experiment with making ResourceFileName a bit more sophisticated. For example if you return MyApplicationEnglish.rsc, or MyApplicationJapanese.rsc, the framework will have absolutely no way to load a "wrong" resource file, since these names do not follow the .r<language code> convention.
    hi sir,

    i have solved that problem in a different way.

    Thanks for showing me the way.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    34

    Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Hi,

    I am having the same problem, like I have a multilingual application for which I use ENonStandardResourceFile and when I use EAknEnableSkin, the text in the CAknMessageQueryDialog is not displayed. Can you please help me out.
    Thanks,
    Laila.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    7

    Question Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Hi ,

    Even i m working on providing multi-language support at runtime. I have implemented the same code u have specified earlier. But after the implementation of the code tabs are not displaying in my application. If u can please give me some idea as to provide multi-language support at runtime it would be helpful.

    regards,
    venky.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: menu options not visible after changing language dynamically?

    Hi:
    I am having the same problem.Can you tell me how to solve it.
    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. slide menu in j2me
    By afka in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-09-04, 09:10
  2. problem about changing menu dynamically
    By yyyly in forum Symbian
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-06-16, 10:56
  3. changing the default menu options in the media gallery
    By deepthis in forum Symbian Media (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-11-10, 22:54
  4. Changing menu items dynamically
    By nkn_motoko in forum Symbian User Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2001-11-28, 21:24
  5. Changing menu items dynamically
    By nkn_motoko in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2001-11-08, 18:48

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •