Discussion Board

What devices do I need to send SMS to other phones and GSM-enabled POS term

I am new to this, but have read the CIMD2 docs and several others. I have been engaged to write software to run on Windows 2000 server, and send/receive SMS messages to mobile phones and GSM-enabled POS terminals. I will be developing in C++. I will be sending and receiving messages to several hundred phones. I may also need to connect via my SMSC (GSM provider). I have several questions to help me get started:

1. Do I need a GSM modem connected to the Win2k server to be able to send the SMS to the mobile phones, and if so, what do you recommend?

2. Can I simply connect a phone to the server, and if so, do I need some kind of data cable, and what do you recommend?

3. Is there a device or equipment available that I can connect to the win2k server, perhaps to the serial port, and then send messages through it to the mobile phones and GSM-enabled POS terminals. My connect is that if you simply connect a phone, one could run out of memory on the phone when sending several messages.

I will appreciate if someone can provide me with some answers, or point me to where I can find an actual deployment architecture-type diagram with available device names or something similar.

C++ sample codes or libraries will also be helpful. I looked at the PC Connectivity SDK, but most of the examples are VB.

Thanks

Gaulles

Nokia Developer Expert

RE: What devices do I need to send SMS to other phones and GSM-enabled POS term

Hello!

Here uou are, few answers for your questions:

1) Yes you do, any data enabled phone is suitable for you.

2) Different phones has different connectivity methods. You have plenty fo different alternatives: Bluetooth, Cable, PCMCIA or IR. In server enviroment, I would start using cable or PCMCIA due the nature of the connection (physical).