×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    30

    Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones

    Hello,

    I have used two levels of cascading. when menu is close second sub menu (r_Second_submenu) is retained on view until the view is refreshed.. The problem does not occurs on MR phones.

    RESOURCE MENU_PANE r_main_menu
    {
    items =
    {

    MENU_ITEM { command = EMainMenuCommand1 ;
    txt = STRING_MainMenuText1;
    cascade = r_first_submenu;
    },


    MENU_ITEM {
    command = EmainMenuCommand2;
    txt = STRING_MainMenuText2;
    }

    };
    }
    RESOURCE MENU_PANE r_first_submenu
    {
    items =
    {

    MENU_ITEM { command = EFistSubmenuCommand1 ;
    txt = STRING_FistSubmenuText1;
    cascade = r_Second_submenu;
    }

    };
    }
    RESOURCE MENU_PANE r_Second_submenu
    {
    items =
    {

    MENU_ITEM
    {
    command = ESecondSubmenucommad1;
    flags = EEikMenuItemRadioStart | EEikMenuItemSymbolOn;
    txt =STRING_second_submenu1;
    },
    MENU_ITEM
    {
    command = ESecondSubmenucommad2;
    flags = EEikMenuItemRadioMiddle ;
    txt =STRING_second_submenu2 ;
    },
    MENU_ITEM
    {
    command = ESecondSubmenucommad3;
    flags = EEikMenuItemRadioEnd;
    txt =STRING_second_submenu3;
    }

    };

    };
    }

  2. #2
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,144

    Re: Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones

    According to S60 style guide you should only use two level menus, not three or more. And E51 is not the only effected device.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    30

    Re: Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones

    Thanks.. Is there alternative u could suggest

  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Lempäälä/Finland
    Posts
    29,144

    Re: Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones

    alternative is propably to use two level menu's

  5. #5
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    195

    Re: Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones

    Bernard, did you find a better solution to this problem?
    I was doing some E51 tests recently and ran into exactly the same problem.

    I really do need a 'third-level' cascade menu because it is the most
    suitable usage for my purposes than a 'settings view'.
    I also don't want to have more than 6 items in a single menu.

    paris.
    Last edited by parisn; 2008-10-05 at 10:52.

  6. #6
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    195

    Re: Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones


  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    30

    Re: Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones

    I was unable to find a solution, so used a setting item List (CAknSettingItemList) instead

    http://www.cublog.cn/u/9577/showart_498338.html
    Thanks
    Merlyn

  8. #8
    Regular Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    195

    Re: Cascaded menu problem with E51(FP1) phones

    yeah, I also came to the conclusion that a settings-list
    was the only way to get an extra level of submenu selection :(

    I'll be working on my menu redesign this week.

    Thanks for the link.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-11-10, 13:19
  2. Problem with sub menu
    By rbs in forum Symbian
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 2007-01-06, 05:13
  3. PROBLEM IN DISPLAYING MENU COMMANDS
    By pistha in forum Symbian Networking & Messaging (Closed)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-21, 15:17
  4. PROBLEM IN DISPLAYING MENU COMMANDS
    By pistha in forum Symbian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-21, 07:47
  5. Adding link to MIDlet in phone's main menu
    By joenic in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-08-22, 21:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •