×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2

    No camera for standalone in Nokia N95

    I am unable to access the camera on Nokia N95 when I run the program as standalone (SIS) application. While the script runs fine from the console and the camera is accessible.

    I have imported the appuifw, camera, graphics, e32 modules in the script.

    Do I have add some parameters while packaging the script?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Re: No camera for standalone in Nokia N95

    Although I am a beginner (and I am in grade school), may I suggest you copy the python main application code (E:\system\apps\Python\Default.py) into your new app, with the same UID and app name (disable the real app by renaming its app folder). Now you have an almost exact copy of the python main app (the only noticeable difference is that it has no icon). Run your camera code on the copied app and see if it works.

  3. #3
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    21.46 N 72.11 E
    Posts
    3,800

    Re: No camera for standalone in Nokia N95

    Quote Originally Posted by thecoder View Post
    I am unable to access the camera on Nokia N95 when I run the program as standalone (SIS) application. While the script runs fine from the console and the camera is accessible.

    I have imported the appuifw, camera, graphics, e32 modules in the script.

    Do I have add some parameters while packaging the script?
    Use any of the techniques from the article mentioned below, to find out what exceptions are thrown, when you run your installed application.

    Python Debugging Techniques

    Also it could be the way you make your SIS file. Do you add capabilities to your command?

    Best Regards,
    Croozeus
    Last edited by croozeus; 2008-05-30 at 05:14. Reason: Corrected links
    Pankaj Nathani
    www.croozeus.com

  4. #4
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Tampere, Finland
    Posts
    524

    Re: No camera for standalone in Nokia N95

    Quote Originally Posted by croozeus View Post
    Also it could be the way you make your SIS file. Do you add capabilities to your command?
    Using camera requires the UserEnvironment capability:

    Code:
    ensymble.py py2sis --caps=UserEnvironment myapp.py

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2

    Re: No camera for standalone in Nokia N95

    Quote Originally Posted by jethro.fn View Post
    Using camera requires the UserEnvironment capability:

    Code:
    ensymble.py py2sis --caps=UserEnvironment myapp.py
    Hey thanks man, that worked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×