Discussion Board

SMS backup: your suggests?

Hi everyone!
    I'm mainly a web developer. I made a website (isms.netsons.org - soon with its own domain ) to make possible backing up SMS messages directly to a web database.
    Currently it's working only for my phone - the Apple iPhone. However, since I've been using Nokia phones for a very long time, and they are still widely used, I'd like to implement support for them (I was thinking to Series 60 phones in particular).

What are your suggestions to make it?

Currently, this is how it works for the iPhone: since it uses a SQLite database to store messages, it is uploaded to the server. The server reads it, scans for new messages and imports them.
    I think this won't be a good idea for Nokia phones, since they are using a proprietary format for SMS storing (and I cannot find the database file in phone's memory).

I accept any kind of suggests. Don't worry about the languages I will need to use: I can learn very fast (I've learnt objective-c in order to make the iPhone native app)

Thank you in advance,

Alessandro

Nokia Developer Moderator

Re: SMS backup: your suggests?

Hello Alessandro, you can find many getting started guides around (check the Wiki, and FN main site).

After learning the basics, you will need to use the Messaging Server (the Msv refers to it in the class-names):
    - the connection is done via CMsvSession
    - CMsvSession::GetEntryL can give you a CMsvEntry, KMsvGlobalInBoxIndexEntryId is the id for the Inbox
    - CMsvEntry::ChildrenWithMtmL can give you a CMsvEntrySelection, KUidMsgTypeSMS is the necessary id for SMS-s
    - then you have a CMsvEntrySelection (which is an array of Messaging Server entry identifiers - 32 bit numbers - in practice)
    - CMsvEntry::SetEntryL for each identifiers you have
    - CMsvEntry::ReadStoreL gives you a CMsvStore object
    - CMsvStore::RestoreBodyTextL extracts the body of the given SMS