×

Discussion Board

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pls insert SIM

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Pls insert SIM

    Hi - I just bought a Nokia 3620 strictly for FlashLite development. However, when I turn it on it says "insert SIM card". On my Nokia E62 I can test my content without a SIM card.

    Am I going to have to buy another SIM card just to test on the 3620?

  2. #2
    Super Contributor
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    9,569

    Re: Pls insert SIM

    Some of the older (and maybe even current) models do require a SIM card. However, it doesn't have to be a working SIM (e.g., an expired SIM card would do just fine, if you can't get/find a genuine dummy SIM).

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pls insert SIM

    Quote Originally Posted by petrib View Post
    ...if you can't get/find a genuine dummy SIM).
    Not having much luck when Googling "SIM card". Rocko, my local phone agent, says he'll sell me one for $30. Seems kinda pricey.


  4. #4
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,559

    Re: Pls insert SIM

    Quote Originally Posted by Gnaws View Post
    Not having much luck when Googling "SIM card". Rocko, my local phone agent, says he'll sell me one for $30. Seems kinda pricey.

    Maybe you will find a right direction here
    http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=128740

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4

    Re: Pls insert SIM

    Thank you, Neil. My apologies if this sounded like an end-user issue.

    Will this work just for development? The price is right.

    Cheers.

  6. #6
    Nokia Developer Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    4,559

    Re: Pls insert SIM

    Quote Originally Posted by Gnaws View Post
    Thank you, Neil. My apologies if this sounded like an end-user issue.

    Will this work just for development? The price is right.

    Cheers.
    Well, I dont think so, but anyway if it does, then the right forum wouldnt be flash lite, but probably http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...play.php?f=118

  7. #7
    Nokia Developer Champion
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    8,347

    Re: Pls insert SIM

    You may not need to purchase a new SIM card just for testing. Here Petrib wanted to say that you can use "dummy SIM card" which might not be active now. So find out an old sim card and insert it in the phone and start with development.

    Kiran.
    Last edited by kiran10182; 2008-06-09 at 20:14.
    Nokia Developer Wiki Moderation team

Similar Threads

  1. SIM tookit question - user wjcrr pls answer
    By uniqz in forum Mobile Java General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-01-02, 15:24
  2. Better SIM directory support
    By ovtchinnikov in forum Series 40 & S60 Platform Feedback Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-03-29, 07:05
  3. Insert SIM in Nokia 1100
    By vikasphogat in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-09-07, 11:18
  4. Insert SIM Card problem
    By kinsora in forum General Development Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-12-27, 10:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
×